End of the year survey

1. Best Book You Read In 2011?

It’s really difficult to pick just one. I’m going to go with The Passage by Justin Cronin, since Hunger Games and A Game of Thrones were both series and would be incomplete with just one book.

2. Most Disappointing Book/Book You Wish You Loved More Than You Did?
Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I wanted to love this book like everyone else. But I couldn’t. I hated it.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2011?
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (or the entire Millennium series). I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did.

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2011?
The Book Thief by Mark Zusak. It was amazing and strange and well written.

5. Best series you discovered in 2011?
ahhh… this is a tie between the Hunger Games trilogy by Collins and the Song of Ice and Fire by Martin. Completely different series, but both equally fantastic.

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2011?
Most of the books I read were written by authors new to me. I don’t pay much attention to who is truly New, but I guess I will go with Neil Gaiman, the author of The Graveyard book, since I’ve never heard of him before.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?
The Time Machine. I love fantasy, but I’m not much of a science fiction reader. I was truly surprised with how much I enjoyed this book, and look forward to reading some other science fiction books this year.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2011?
I don’t know that this book is necessary thrilling, but I couldn’t put it down and my jaw was open for some length of time in certain parts. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.

9. Book you most anticipated in 2011?
A Dance with Dragons. I started the series this year, but had no idea how long people were waiting for this installment to be released. I thought a couple months was a long wait, but I was wrong. Nevertheless, I was certainly anticipating this book.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2011?
      The Map of Time by Felix Palma

11. Most memorable character in 2011?
Melinda Sordino from Speak.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2011?
Sometimes A Great Notion by Ken Kesey

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2011?
Fahrenheit 451 or Rats Saw God

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2011 to finally read?
Brave New World

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2011?
“You might hide in some Freudian jungle most of your miserable life, baying at the moon and shouting curses at God, but at the end, right down there at the damned end when it counts… you would sure as anything clear up just enough to realize the moon you have spent so many years baying at is nothing but the light globe up there on the ceiling, and God is just something placed in your bureau drawer by the Gideon Society. Yes, I sighed again, in the long run insanity would be the same old coldhearted drag of too solid flesh, too many slings and arrows, and too much outrageous fortune.”
Ken Kesey, Sometimes a Great Notion
16. Book That You Read In 2011 That Would Be Most Likely To Reread In 2012?
The Passage, The Book Thief, Speak, maybe even The Map of Time, since I read it before reading The Time Machine and now I might be better informed.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It?
Life of Pi. Close to the end.
“So you want another story?”

“Uhh… no. We would like to know what really happened.”

“Doesn’t the telling of something always become a story?”

“Uhh… perhaps in English. In Japanese a story would have an element of invention in it. We don’t want any invention. We want the ‘straight facts,’ as you say in English.”

“Isn’t telling about something–using words, English or Japanese–already something of an invention? Isn’t just looking upon this world already something of an invention?”

I was angered at this point.

 Looking Ahead…

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2011 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2012?
Nothing, I never put a book down.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2012?
I’m really excited to read Wind in the Willows.

3. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2012?
I hope to complete my goal of 70 books and complete all the challenges I recently signed up for. I also hope to get more traffic on my blog and perhaps post more often.

2 thoughts on “End of the year survey

Leave a Reply

