Top Ten Tuesday

 
 

Top 10 Books I’d Hand to Someone Who 
Says They Don’t Like To Read
 
This is a difficult one because everyone has different interests, but I’ll try my best.
 
1. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. 
This is an easy read as it’s geared towards young readers, but most people seem to express an interest in Greek Mythology. Rather than directing them to The Odyssey, which can be difficult to read or Bulfinches Mythology, which reads like a bunch of short stories, this may be a series that people would enjoy.
 
2.Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. 
This book is hilarious and anyone who’s ever been a part of the military or another large organization or career would get this. It doesn’t really read like a story with a beginning, middle, and end. It really doesn’t even matter that the reader keep track of the characters. Just sit back and read and laugh.
 
3. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.
I’ve noticed a lot of people who claim to not like reading tend to be drawn to true stories. Memoirs and True Crime books may be the cure for these kinds of people, which is I pick this. Not only is it well written, there is not a lot of emotion in the writing, leaving the judgements up to the reader. It’s a fantastic story and I think a lot of people would be touched by this book.
 
4. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
I once read an article that said people are comfortable with knowing the end of books. Apparently, a lot of people stress out to a degree if they don’t know how something will end. For these people, I’d pick a book that has been a movie for a long time. Most people have seen this movie and the book reads just like the movie, except from Chief’s point of view.  This is even better, because the fact that Chief is NOT deaf and dumb won’t come as a surprise, either. Not only that, but as soon as the reader meets the main character, if they’ve seen the movie, they will see Jack Nicholson through and through, which is quite enjoyable.
 
5. Animal Farm by George Orwell.
Mostly, I can’t imagine anyone not enjoying this book. It’s an easy read and it makes a strong point. But if reading more detailed books about politics and government is too daunting, this is perfect. You only take from it what you absorb. 
 
6. I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max
I hated this book, but it’s because it encompasses everything I cannot stand about the world. It’s a compilation of hilarious stories from a self proclaimed asshole. I recommend this book for people who are reality show watchers and snooki followers. This book is perfect. It’s a book and it contains only the things that these kinds of people would enjoy. I hate to sound like I’m recommending it as an insult to their intelligence, but if someone truly doesn’t like reading and is completely wrapped up in pop culture and drinking, I think it really is perfect for them.
 
7. The Zombie Combat Manual by Roger Ma
This is an awesome book. It reads just like a manual and will even have you thinking “Oh, I really need to start training.” as if the Zombie Apocalypse is real. But it’s perfect for Zombie lovers and manual readers and people that joke about the Zombie Apocalypse. Which is like, everyone I know. =)
 
8. The Millenium Trilogy (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) by Stieg Larsson
For some reason, crime dramas are all the rage. I recommend this one because it’s very well written. Crime novels are not my typical genre, but I really enjoyed this one.
 
9. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
I simply love this novel and I can’t imagine anyone not liking it. I think it has a lot of relevant themes.
 
10. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.
Most people love The Jungle Book. This is a fresh new take on it. A toddler is raised by ghosts in a graveyard (instead of animals in a jungle). I loved this book and I think even nonreaders might enjoy it. 
8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Can you believe I have not yet read Fahrenheit 451?! It's on my TBR shelf, though. I can't wait to read it! The Glass Castle is a fantastic book, isn't it?! I have mostly memoirs and non-fiction on my non-reader's list today. I should have included that one too.

    Like

  2. Memoirs and nonfiction and true stories are always great suggestions for non readers.
    You HAVE to read Fahrenheit 451. It's a simple book, but it really speaks to me. A world where we burn books? So sad.

    Like

  3. It's a trend I'll never understand. How people can read through pointless magazines and pretty much read the life stories of celebrities, but won't read stories and get to know the fictional characters in the same way.

    Like

  4. Love the list – and the variety of choices. I read The Glass Castle – and don't like non-fiction – but that book was really amazing. I hope to read the other novel (about her grandmother) soon.

    Like

  5. Memoirs really aren't my thing either, but I really enjoyed that one. I didn't know she had another one about her grandmother. I'll have to check that one out, not much was really said about her.

    Like

  6. I put a lot of non fiction on my list. I think it might appeal to people who just want to learn more about something they're interested in, or read about someone they like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

