Top Ten Tuesday- Tips for New Book Bloggers

Top Ten Tips For New Book Bloggers

1. Participate in Memes. Not only are they tons of fun, but it really gives you the opportunity to network with other bloggers.
2. Continue to love reading and read what you want. A lot of bloggers read really fast and read a lot of books and read mostly one specific genre, especially YA. It’s nice to get into that, but I think it’s also important to read what you like at your own pace so you don’t burn yourself out. Keep a balance that works for you.
3. Blog like everyone is reading. This is tip for most any kind of blog. Just blog like you have a million followers. It doesn’t matter if you only have 5 and they are all your friends. Just keep doing it and eventually you’ll gain new followers and your blog will be established.
4. Network with other bloggers. I’ve learned so much from just following other blogs and seeing the kind of things they do. It’s inspired me a lot.
5. Review the books you read. When I first started, I realized most of the blogs I followed reviewed ARCs. Because I wasn’t in contact with authors or publishers yet, I just started reviewing the books I was reading and after posting a few reviews, I was able to connect with authors. I’m not still not where a lot of others are as far as getting review copies, but it doesn’t matter, as long as you’re posting reviews of books!
6. Follow Parajunkee’s View. You learn blogging tips and etiquette via Book Blogging 101 and gain new followers via the Twitter and Facebook social hop and the Feature and Follow Friday meme. Simply following PJV has taught me so much about book blogging.
7. Promote yourself. I had a hard time doing this, but I’m slowly getting better. Making a twitter account and posting your blog post links is helpful. Make a facebook fan page for your blog, too. And post links all the time. Comment on other blogs and post your link. (and leave a meaningful comment). It’s important to get yourself out there.
8. Have fun with it. Don’t let it become work.
9. Be original. I love seeing all sorts of posts on book blogs, even personal posts. Memes are personalized in each different blog and so are reviews. But sometimes, you’ll come across blogs that repost giveaways and summaries more often than anything else, so you never get to see original stuff. So keep posting your thoughts and questions and observations, because a lot of us really like to see it.
10. Post often. It doesn’t matter (like I said before) if you only have 5 followers. Keep posting as often as you can. It’s important to stay active on a blog or people will forget about you. If you can’t post for some reason, like you are busy or going away on vacation, create a post about it so your followers know why you aren’t being active.
As a fairly new book blogger myself, I may be missing some key points, but we all learn as we go.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Tips for New Book Bloggers

Leave a Reply

