Feature and Follow Friday

Hosted by Parajunkee’s View and Alison Can Read

Featured Hosts: Book That Thing! and Little Read Riding Hood

Q: Have you had a character that disappointed you? One that you fell in love with and then “broke up” with later on in either the series or a stand-alone book? Tell us about him or her.

To the first part of the question, yes. Characters disappoint me all the time when they make stupid mistakes. Some that come to mind: Tally in the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, Bella in the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer, Bill in the Sookie Stackhouse series Charlaine Harris, Dany in the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin.

But I don’t know that I’ve fell in love with a character and then “broke up” with them.

Dany was probably the biggest disappointment because when I first started reading the series, I had high hopes for her really leading her people and taking back the kingdom. But she’s slow going and I feel like she’s weak and hides behind her dragons. I was disappointed, but I just moved on and focused my attention on other awesome characters, like Jon Snow.

7 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday

  1. After reading all the books in the series so far, the last book was the only one that didn't live up to its title. I loved it, don't get me wrong, but Dany still isn't doing anything awesome. I was disappointed, but I'm holding out hope that in the next installment(s) she will come through as the strong queen I want her to be!

    Like

  2. It's interesting how characters in series books tend to change from being likeable to disappointing huh? lol I wonder if they were only single series books if that would happen?
    thanks for stopping by Megan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

