Top Ten Tuesday–Quotes

hosted by: The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Favorite Book Quotes

1. “I prefer my history dead. Dead history is writ in ink, the living sort in blood.” A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

2. “Clare: It’s hard being left behind. I wait for Henry. not knowing where he is, wondering if he’s okay. It’s hard to be the one who stays. I keep myself busy. Time goes by faster that way. I go to sleep alone, and wake up alone. I take walks. I work until I’m tired. I watch the wind play with the trash that’s been under the snow all winter…. Long ago, men went to sea, and women waited for them, standing on the edge of the water, scanning the horizon for the tiny ship. Now I wait for Henry..” The Time Traveler’s Wife

3. “’The reader lives a thousand lives before he dies,’ said Jojen. ‘The man who never reads only lives one.’” A Song of Ice and Fire series

4. “You wake up, and you’re nowhere. One minute was enough, Tyler said, a person had to work hard for it, but a minute of perfection was worth the effort. A moment was the most you could ever expect from perfection. You wake up, and that’s enough.” Fight Club

5. “’I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.” The Fault In Our Stars

6. “There are no rules, no scientific absolutes. You win, you lose, it’s a total crapshoot. The only rule that ever made sense to me I learned from a history, not an economics, professor at Wharton. ‘Fear,’ he used to say, ‘fear is the most valuable commodity in the universe.’ That blew me away. ‘Turn on the TV,’ he’d say. ‘What are you seeing? People selling their products? No. People selling the fear of you having to live without their products.’ Fuckin’ A, was he right. Fear of aging, fear of loneliness, fear of poverty, fear of failure. Fear is the most basic emotion we have. Fear is primal. Fear sells. That was my mantra.” World War Z

7. “And that’s when she put her book down. And looked at me. And said it: ‘Life isn’t fair, Bill. We tell our children that it is, but it’s a terrible thing to do. It’s not only a lie, it’s a cruel lie. Life is not fair, and it never has been, and it’s never going to be.'” -William Goldman, The Princess Bride

8. “People want pretty much the same things: They wanted to be happy. Most young people seemed to think that those things lay somewhere in the future, while most older people believed they lay in the past.”
— Nicholas Sparks (Nights in Rodanthe)

9. “You may not see it now,” said the Princess of Pure Reason, looking knowingly at Milo’s puzzled face, “but whatever we learn has a purpose and whatever we do affects everything and everyone else, if even in the tiniest way. Why, when a housefly flaps his wings, a breeze goes round the world; when a speck of dust falls to the ground, the entire planet weighs a little more; and when you stamp your foot, the earth moves slightly off its course. Whenever you laugh, gladness spreads like the ripples in the pond; and whenever you’re sad, no one anywhere can be really happy. And it’s much the same thing with knowledge, for whenever you learn something new, the whole world becomes that much richer.”
— Norton Juster (The Phantom Tollbooth)

10. “Being raised as a military brat has a way of making things blur together, simply because of how often you have to move. Friends come and go, clothing is packed and unpacked, households are continually purged of unnecessary items, and as a result, not much sticks. It’s hard at times, but it makes a kid strong in ways that most people can’t understand. Teaches them that even though people are left behind, new ones will inevitably take their place; that every place has something good- and bad- to offer. It makes a kid grow up fast.”
Nicholas Sparks- The Lucky One

These aren’t necessarily my favorite quotes ever or my favorite books, but these are some of the quotes I have saved in random places.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday–Quotes

Leave a Reply

