Feature and Follow Friday–Fathers

Hosted by Parajunkee’s View and Alison Can Read

Featured Blogs: Candace’s Book Blog and Patch of Sky

Q: Happy Father’s Day! Who is your favorite dad character in a book and why?

Ned Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. He was such an honorable man and brought up his children well. While being a good person doesn’t really work out well for any of the characters in the series, he is one of my favorite characters and the kind of father I’m sure all the rest of the characters in Westeros wish they had.

I also liked Charlie in the Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer. I don’t know why, but I just felt like he was a much steadier parent. He tried so hard to be good to his daughter and I liked him a lot. Come to think of it, both Jacob and Edward’s fathers were also great.

And because I love Greek mythology, I’ll say Poseidon in the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. He surely wasn’t the best father, but I loved him.

And while I’m on a good roll, Mo from the Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke. Matter of fact, why wasn’t he my first choice. He was a wonderful father!

I’m having MUCH better luck picking great fathers than I did picking great moms.

10 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday–Fathers

  1. Oh Mo is a great choice! And I agree that Charlie was a great father as well. He tried SO hard!
    Thanks for stopping by and following! I'll follow you back but the page isn't loading all the way on my kindle so I'll come back later.

    Like

  2. Ned Stark is one of our picks, too! His integrity really stands out in a series filled with very questionable characters. Good choice with Charlie Swan, too. I thought that he was a great dad to Bella.

    Old follower. 🙂

    Like

  3. I am a new follower, and nice picks by the way, Charlie was one of mine too. Here is my FF link http://concisebookreviewsbymichelle.blogspot.com/2012/06/ff-follow-friday-hop-615.html

    By the way, your CAPTCHA is turned on, I mention this, as I did not know, and have mine off now, as I hate them, I have to get my daughter to come and help, My eyes are not what they used to be, and the audio is worse on those, just letting you know, in case you didn't know it was on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

