Feature and Follow Friday–Unread

Hosted by Parajunkee’s View and Alison Can Read

Featured Blogs: Books and Blossoms and Head Stuck in a Book

Q: If you could “unread” a book, which one would it be? Is it because you want to start over and experience it again for the first time? Or because it was THAT bad?

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

It wasn’t badly written or anything. It was actually captivating.

And then, you get the end and (if you are anything like me) you THROW the book across the room because it was an epic waste of time.

The feelings I get whenever I think of this book are ridiculous. I’m already typing angrily because I HATE this book. I hated the message, the ending, and the overall nerve of the author (no disrespect, honestly) to try to make such a point. It’s just too much for me. I felt like the entire story disrespected the idea of truth in storytelling. Which is the point.

Ugh.

It’s still on my shelf because I don’t want to get rid of it. If I keep the book, maybe that’s one less person who will see it in a used bookstore and read it. I have to stop myself now or this will be a forever long rant! Haha.

13 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday–Unread

  1. I haven't read Life of Pi. Started it at least a dozen times and just can't get into it- never made it past Chapter 1. I'm glad I'm not the only person that has books they loathe in their house to keep copies out of circulation. I have a huge box of bad translations of The Iliad and The Odyssey (two of my favorites). I buy them when I see them for a quarter or so because a bad translation can equal a bad reading experience. So, we have a huge box of books I consider crap and we may be moving and my husband is putting his foot down and refuses to pay to ship them. I don't know what to do with them- can't give them to the library to sell, can't trade them in. I'm not comfortable with burning them or throwing them in the trash…I'm stuck.

    I'm following via GFC, my blog is at: http://365-books-a-year.blogspot.com/

    Like

  2. Hahaha I actually had to read that book for 10th grade summer reading! While I probably wouldn't rave about it, I thought it was rather interesting. But hey, to each her own!

    thanks for stopping by my FF!
    old follower 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

