Review and Character Interview–Persistence of Vision by Liesel K. Hill Blog Tour

HillFrontCover_zps2071e303-1_zpsc4c71acd-1_zps5a6a0564-1_zpsa43a5b00
Persistence of Vision Blog Tour
January 13 to March 16
 
Persistenceofvision
 
Persistence of Vision (Interchron #1)
 
by Liesel K. Hill
 

Summary: In a world where collective hives are enslaving the population and individuals have been hunted to the verge of extinction, Maggie Harper, and independent 21st Century woman, must find the strength to preserve the freedom of the future, but without the aid of her memories.
After experiencing a traumatic time loss, Maggie is plagued by a barrage of images she can’t explain. When she’s attacked by a creep with a spider’s web tattoo, she is saved by Marcus, a man she’s never met, but somehow remembers. He tells her that both he and her creepy attacker are from a future in which individuals are being murdered by collectives, and Marcus is part of the rebellion. The collectives have acquired time travel and they plan to enslave the human race throughout all of history. The flashes Maggie has been seeing are echoes of lost memories, and the information buried deep within them is instrumental in defeating the collective hives.

In order to preserve the individuality of mankind, Maggie must try to re-discover stolen memories, re-kindle friendships she has no recollection of, and wade through her feelings for the mysterious Marcus, all while dodging the tattooed assassins the collectives keep sending her way.
If Maggie can’t fill the holes in her memory and find the answers to stop the collectives, the world both in her time and in all ages past and future will be doomed to enslavement in the grey, mediocre collectives. As the danger swirls around her and the collectives close in, Maggie realizes she must make a choice: stand out or fade away…

New Adult futuristic dystopian fantasy
 

Source: I received a copy of this book from the author as part of a blog tour in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

5%2520star

Persistence of Vision was incredible! I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the premise blew me away. The two opposing theories of collectivism versus individualism were taken to a whole new level in a complex futuristic dystopia with psychological and neurological explanations. The idea seemed so plausible and I loved the way the author focused a lot on brain chemistry being the key. It was such a unique story and I really love the way it was executed. I hate to make the book seem like a far out science fiction full of technological and complicated things because it wasn’t written in a such a way that I felt it was over my head at all. It was incredible without being technologically overwhelming.

The book is written in third person from Maggie’s point of view, which I enjoyed. I felt like I connected with Maggie immediately. She was a strong character, but she also had moments of where she felt small and useless due to her memory loss. She was complex and relatable, especially as the reader is thrown into a world where not a whole lot is recognizable. Maggie’s ability to compare things and figure out how to understand the advanced technology made it easier for me as the reader to understand it, too. I really felt for her, too, as she struggled to make sense of Marcus and her feelings and missing memories and there was a level of conflict there that I really enjoyed.

I loved all of the characters of Interchron. Marcus was a great character and the tension and affection between him and Maggie was interesting and kept me on the edge of my seat from a romantic standpoint. Karl was a sort of carefree character that provided some comedic relief in just the right places. And Doc was one of those wise characters that had a wealth of information. All of the characters had their own issues and depth and I felt like I really knew them all by the time I was finished reading.

I could gush forever about how much I really liked the storyline. The world is so interesting to me and I felt just as eager as Maggie to learn more about it and the abilities of all the people. Learning how the world ended up the way it is was absolutely incredible to me and I’m still kind of blown away by how much I loved it. I just love how it takes some ideas that have been present forever and takes it to a futuristic level the way that it did with so many connections to schools of belief, psychology, sociology, and neurology. The plot was adventurous and yet there was so much room for character development and growth and romance. I could see it all in my head as I was reading and it’s one of those books I’d love to see made into a movie.

I definitely recommend this book to others, even if dystopian novels or science fiction isn’t really your cup of tea because it doesn’t quite fit into just one genre. It’s dystopian, fantasy, science fiction, new adult, romance, with supernatural elements all mixed together. It’s a great story all around with memorable characters and it’s definitely worth reading! I can’t wait to read more books by Liesel K. Hill and I am already eagerly awaiting the next book in the series!

Character Interview with Maggie

Me: After the crazy events in Vegas, do you think you’d ever be able to vacation there again?

Maggie: *chuckles* No, probably not. Too many bad memories.
How overwhelmed were you when you ended up in the future and Doc explained everything? Would you have ever imagined a future like that? Before actually going to the future, what did you think it would be like?
Very overwhelmed! With the way science and technology are advancing in our time, I would have liked to believe we were heading into a golden age. We certainly had the potential for it. But unfortunately, humans tend to make all the wrong conclusions and decisions. Our short-sightedness doomed us to dystopia.
For the people who don’t know your story, is there a popular science fiction movie or story you think best compares to how the future really is?
Hmm. That’s hard to say. The future is worse than most imaginings of it. When outside of Interchron, the land feels a lot like Cormac McCarthy’s The Road. It’s bleak and desolate but also dangerous and lonely. Still not an exact comparison, but similar.
Where do you feel more at home now: the past or the future?
More and more, the future. I feel a real sense of purpose there and the team is like a second family. When I’m in the past, I always worry about the team and the future and wish I was there. I think that’s an answer in and of itself.
What’s one thing you missed from the past when you were in the future?
Cheeseburgers. Having food and fun activities constantly at our fingertips. The future is a place where everyone’s too busy trying to survive to worry about such frivolities, but I missed the laid-back lifestyle.
Even though you discovered you had incredible and untapped abilities, is there any ability you wish you had instead?
I wouldn’t mind being a great Healer like Marcus. So many of the missions we go on prove dangerous. It would give me peace of mind if I could Heal any injuries that might arise.
Before you were aware of the future, would you have called yourself more of an individualist or a collectivist?
An individualist. Granted, I never thought much about it, but I’ve always been independent. I was taught to work for what I have and not really on any person or entity for my welfare. I believe strongly in the law and choice-and-accountability. These are very individualistic traits.
What’s your favorite color?
Amber. The color of Marcus’s eyes.
If you had to pick one word to describe yourself, what would it be?
Determined.
I know it’s a touchy subject since so much of your memory is missing, but what’s your favorite memory of Marcus that you have right now?
Probably the evening we spent together in the Canyon Room. There was just something magical about it. We shared a kiss—the first that I can remember. I felt safe, and as though I knew him better after that, even if it was far from solving our problems.
Thanks!
Thanks so much for having me! I’ve enjoyed being here!
 

About the Author

Liesel K. Hill
 
Author Bio: Writes across three genres: scif/fantasy, historical fiction, and crime drama. Graduate of Weber State University and lover of all things fantastical! 😀
 Persistence of Vision is availabe for Kindle:
 
3 thoughts on “Review and Character Interview–Persistence of Vision by Liesel K. Hill Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

