Feature and Follow Friday–Breaking Up

FF_2013Button
 
Feature and Follow Friday
 
 
 
This weeks Question:  

Q: Have you broken up with a series? If so which one and why?

Most of the time, if I love a series, I’ll stick it out through tough times, like I did with the occasional bumps in the Sookie Stackhouse series. I even kept reading through the not-so-great first and second books in the Vampire Academy series. And I’m proud of myself because both of them were worth it!

The Blue Blood series by Melissa De La Cruz, however, was something I couldn’t get through. I read the first book and disliked it, but I still wanted to give it a chance. It had a lot of potential, but it came across as shallow and the focus of the story wasn’t where I wanted it to be. There were such interesting historical parts, but the rest of it was really Gossip Girl-ish I bought a copy of book two, got through about half of it, and just decided not to bother.

I also quit reading the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. I liked book one a lot, but when book two and book three followed a similar pattern of slow middles (which are quite LONG) and action packed ends, I was discouraged. When I figured out the series was as long as it is, I just decided to quit while I was ahead. I would one day like to pick them up again because so many people love them. So perhaps we aren’t broken up, we are just taking a break. =)

There have been no long series that I’ve loved for ages and just decided to give up one, though, so none of these have felt really like breaking up.

6 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday–Breaking Up

  1. I read Uglies and really loved it! I read the 2nd book and it just lost me. The rest of the series held no interest for me. Broke up never to return.

    Shiver. I hardly made it through book one. But I really wanted to read it. I really wanted to like it.

    Fallen series. I was kind of pissed about the end of book 2. I've never been so frustrated with a character. I had to wait for the next book to come out for such a long time, I just haven't continued. Can't say I totally broke up with it though. I plan to see how that toes together.

    You know what…I'm going to shut up now. I'm depressing the shit out of myself. Since the first of this year I've kept my resolution pretty well. Read one book at a time. Give a series a chance. But there are those I just couldn't get into.

    The only reason I haven't continued the Mortal Instruments books is because back when I read the first 3, there were only the first 3. I thought I had finished. Then she got more ideas and wrote more. That series I WILL finish!!

    Right now…I'm in awe of my current read Shatter Me. I can't even discribe what my thoughts are. All I have are feels. Just feels.

    (I have no idea how to sign with my blog info.)

    Like

  2. Keri,

    link: < a href="http://www.website.com">my link text< /a >

    remove the spaces between the < and a and between the < /a >

    That's it!

    My mobile comment system lacks in comparison to my website comment system, which I installed manually. On the full site, you can sign in with multiple social sites and you get notifications when people respond. It doesn't appear to work via mobile. =(

    Also, I know what you mean about Uglies. I loved it, but books 2 and 3 fell short for me. I still read on, because at that time, I never stopped reading a book. The Fallen series improved dramatically with the last two books. It was like a whole new series. THe last book was awesome.

    I'm so glad you're liking Shatter Me!!

    Like

  3. I'll try it on the website instead.

    Really loving Shatter Me. Dystopian reads aren't really my thing, as you know, but this…this is an it-makes-me-speachless kind of read. Hopefully a series I will NOT break up with!!

    Also…I'll give Fallen another try eventually. I've got a lot to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

