Review–Between the Stars and Sky by David James

BTSAS large

 
Between the Stars and Sky
 
by David James
 

Summary: Between the Stars and Sky is a vivid, standalone contemporary novel from Young Adult author David James.
In the small, lakeside town of Huntington, the Firelight Festival marks the end of summer. A time to laugh, to live, to love. And for Jackson Grant, it is a chance to begin again.
But there is a darker side to the Firelight Festival, a deadly tradition known as the Firelight Fall. A secret game. A legendary lie. A test of bravery. Those who fall risk everything, and Jackson is on the edge. Until he meets a girl who pushes him over.
For Jackson, falling for Sarah Blake might be as dangerous as jumping in the Firelight Fall. As summer burns away, Jackson and Sarah ignite an unstoppable love game. For her, his heart is on fire. And soon, Sarah shows him life, saves him from loss, and opens his heart to an infinite and wild love found between the stars and sky.
Lyrical and deeply romantic, Between the Stars and Sky is a poetic and heart-stopping read for fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and E. Lockhart.


Source: I received a digital copy of the book from the author as part of a blog tour in exchange for an honest review.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Like the author’s other novels, Between the Stars and Sky was lyrical. The writing was very poetic and descriptive. You could highlight just about every sentence because it just captures something so deep. Not a single word was wasted or used to describe some silly little action. And like the author’s other books, Between the Stars and Sky was mostly from the male point of view which is something a lot of readers probably aren’t used to in contemporary (or any kind of) romance. Jackson was vulnerable, hopeful, poetic, and incredibly romantic. I love the author for this reason because he is never afraid to show off the sensitive and vulnerable side of a guy’s emotions when he’s falling in love.

Despite enjoying the book, I do warn that you really have to be in the mood to read the book (or any of the author’s books). His books can’t be read quickly or halfheartedly. They demand a slow read because each sentence tries to linger. It can be frustrating if you’re in the mood for a straightforward story, but it can be beautiful and inspiring if you’re in the mood for his lyrical prose.

Between the Stars and Sky is like a piece of super rich chocolate cake. You have to take slow bites and savor each one or it will be much too rich and heavy to enjoy. And if you’re in the mood for quickly snacking on M&Ms, you won’t enjoy it or appreciate it at all. That’s the best way to describe the book.

I recommend Between the Stars and Sky, especially if you’re a fan of introspective prose. The characters don’t just reflect, they live inside of their emotions and feelings. They treat each moment like it could be their defining moment and aren’t afraid to be romantic about it. Nothing about the characters is ordinary or run of the mill, which can be a nice change from the other cotemporary romances on the market.

4%2520star

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s