Review – Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

7505716

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll

Summary: One day, a young girl named Alice is sitting on the riverbank with her sister, when she sees a curious looking white rabbit. She soon after falls into the magical world of Wonderland, where she meets a series of strange creatures. 

Source: I purchased the Barnes and Noble beautiful hardcover collector’s edition.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is a book I have never read before and never owned. I decided to remedy that by selecting it to complete the 2015 Popsugar reading challenge for a book that is over 100 years old. I’m only reviewing the first book, despite having the collection, as that’s all I’ve read so far.

I actually enjoyed Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I thought it was fun and I loved the logical fallacies and the nonsense throughout, as I think that’s the main theme. It’s not nearly as weird as people have made it out to be. I was surprised by how little I liked Alice. I didn’t find her to be all that curious or intelligent, but I hope that I see more of her personality in the next book. She just seemed bored and kind of rude. She literally argued with everyone, even though they weren’t making much sense, some conversations did not require her input. Still, I think that’s part of being a kid and speaking up when something doesn’t make sense, which was the point of all the madness.

I couldn’t help but compare the book to The Phantom Tollbooth because of the fact that nothing made much sense and the characters were all a little weird and set in their ways. I think doing that made the book slightly less enjoyable for me because there’s no nice and tidy ending where everything is put right. In Wonderland, things just are the way they are.

Still, despite having seen a million adaptations of the book (I used to love that Adventures in Wonderland show when I was kid), I thoroughly enjoyed the book and thought it was less predictable and repetitive than I was expecting. I can see why it’s a classic. I’m intrigued by the sequel and I’m excited to check out the other works of Lewis Carroll.

I don’t know what took me so long to finally read the book and purchase the complete works, but I’m glad I finally did! I definitely recommend reading it. The first book is only around 100 pages, so it’s quick and fun.

4%25252520star

 

One thought on “Review – Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Leave a Reply

