2016 Blogger New Year’s Challenge: 2015 Blogger Horror Story

1-1

 

2016 Blogger New Year’s Challenge

hosted by Parajunkee

Day 12: A 2015 Blogger Horror Story

I used to blog using Windows Live Writer. Sometime in May, it stopped working. No matter what I did, it would NOT connect with my blog, which was hosted through Blogger.

I decided I’d go back to using the website to post, even though it was way less user friendly. I’d been using the writer since late 2012, so this was a big change for me.

I went to make my first post and realized that I couldn’t upload pictures. I would sit for hours trying to refresh the picture loading screen just to post a single book review. I was thankful I had about a month of scheduled content to back me up.

Some days, I’d log in and the create post box was only in HTML, which I can barely deal with. I have created a ton of custom stuff, but it takes me literally hours because I’m not fluent in HTML.

Finally, when the writer started working again, it was back to blogging like normal.

Then, I switched to Windows 10 and couldn’t find any writer app.

Fortunately, I was able to download Windows Live Writer again after doing some research.

Then, in December of 2015, the writer stopped working AGAIN. And the blogger website was so cumbersome to use to upload pics, change sizes, etc.

I spent an entire day switching to WordPress. I almost stopped blogging because I was so frustrated. I was weighing the pros and cons and feeling like there was no point to me even being a blogger. Fortunately, I tried WordPress and it was a breeze to switch. It was easier than I imagined it would be.

This horror story has a happy ending, so I guess it’s not all that awful.

Leave a Reply

