Top Ten Tuesday – Valentine’s Day Feels

toptentuesday

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Emotional Books

(Either they resonated with me as a military spouse, they reminded me of my relationship with my husband, or maybe I just read them when my husband was gone and I was super emotional)

15931

1. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. I literally SOBBED reading this. Because OF COURSE I decided to read it when my husband was gone. It’s definitely an emotional love story.

 

11870085

2. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. I didn’t cry reading it (probably because I’m not remotely prone to tears when my husband is home and also because I kept putting it down when my lip trembled), but the movie made me sob because I saw it in theaters and you can’t pause or put it down when you’re on the verge of tears in the theater.

 

18619684

3. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. Why do I have to discover these books when I’m emotionally vulnerable?! From the first page, I knew that Claire and I shared a bond that few understand. No, my husband doesn’t time travel randomly, but he does leave, sometimes for unknown periods of time with little warning.

10121801

4. The Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater. I can’t explain this one. I cried when I read it, though it wasn’t sad or even sappy. There was just this heavy blanket of nostalgia in the author’s beautiful prose it got to me. Of course, this was a series I read when my husband was gone.

49041

5. New Moon by Stephenie Meyer. I know. I know. Twilight?! You’re rolling your eyes. But, guys, this book did resonate with me. From dealing with being alone, to having to keep secrets that aren’t yours, to just missing someone who is a part of your soul.. it fits. It’s TOTALLY melodramatic, I know. But this quote: “But the absence of him is everywhere I look. It’s like a huge hole has been punched through my chest.” It’s so fucking perfect. When I have to put his shoes away or that first load of laundry that still has his clothes.. I can’t be the only one to get a little sad.

13372690

6. Slammed by Colleen Hoover. I hate teacher- student romances and I’m not much into guys who dig poetry that much, but OMG, I sobbed like a child reading Slammed. Growing up quickly at a young age due to circumstances and falling in love at a young age, but yet being mature about it were things I could relate to and I loved this book so much.

 

10798416

7. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer Smith. The book wasn’t sappy or emotional, but I know that my husband and I had an instant connection, much like the characters in the book. Sometimes, a few minutes does change the rest of your life.

 

890_thumb.jpg

8. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. So, this one seems weird to have on a romance list, but my husband loves this book, so naturally I associate it with him. Also, it made me sob, so it certainly gave me feels.

 

22249766

9.  The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. This seems like a weird choice for this list, since my husband isn’t really like the love interest at all. He’s actually very different. But I see certain similarities. Sometimes, Warner would say or do something that is just so like my husband. Also, he can sometimes come across as a jerk to people who don’t know him well or understand what motivates him, just like Warner.

 

3473

10. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks. This is another one I read while my husband was gone because that’s always a fantastic idea and I cried quite a bit even though it isn’t a book that mirrors my life in any way.

 

I’m usually not an emotional person and it takes a lot to even make me care, let alone cry. But when my husband is gone, I’m much more likely to cry and be moved emotionally. Sometimes, the strangest books have made me tear up in those situations.

What books move you?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Valentine’s Day Feels

Leave a Reply

