Top Ten Tuesday – Music and Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Songs I Wish Were Books

 

1. Saferwaters by Chevelle

I always picture some sort of dark fantasy with some angsty love story when I hear it.

The city’s saving grace
But whoever knows, nobody knows
Why she rolled the eyes back?
Why he rolled those eyes? Those heartless eyes

Well, I won’t pretend to lie once more
Protect my mind aside
You say goodbye, I’ll keep all the things
You mark the place where I exist

Our world is calling so I’m crawling back to sea
Against the surge of waves that
Held us with that ancient grip beneath
Retreat to safer waters

2. Love the Way You Lie by Eminem ft. Rihanna

I love the music video and I’m so intrigued by this train wreck relationship. And if I’m being honest, a lot of “romance” novels are like this.

High off a love, drunk from my hate,
It’s like I’m huffing paint and I love it the more I suffer, I suffocate
And right before I’m about to drown, she resuscitates me
She fucking hates me and I love it.
Wait! Where you going?
“I’m leaving you!”
No you ain’t. Come back we’re running right back.
Here we go again
It’s so insane cause when it’s going good, it’s going great
I’m Superman with the wind at his back, she’s Lois Lane
But when it’s bad it’s awful, I feel so ashamed I snapped
Who’s that dude?
“I don’t even know his name.”
I laid hands on her, I’ll never stoop so low again
I guess I don’t know my own strength

 

3. My Immortal by Evanescence

This is like.. the heartbreak of heartbreaks.

I’m so tired of being here
Suppressed by all my childish fears
And if you have to leave
I wish that you would just leave
‘Cause your presence still lingers here
And it won’t leave me alone

These wounds won’t seem to heal, this pain is just too real
There’s just too much that time cannot erase

4. Aenima by Tool

I love a good apocalypse. Give me a story about the idiots who deserved the end of the world!

Some say the end is near.
Some say we’ll see Armageddon soon.
I certainly hope we will.
I sure could use a vacation from this

Bullshit three ring circus sideshow of
Freaks…

The only way to fix it is to flush it all away.
Any fucking Time. Any fucking day.
Learn to swim, I’ll see you down in
Arizona bay.

Some say a comet will fall from the sky.
Followed by meteor showers and tidal waves.
Followed by fault lines that cannot sit still.
Followed by millions of dumbfounded dipshits.

 

 

5. Cemetery Gates by Pantera

This song is already a story, but I’d love something detailed and more in depth.

This love would end in rage
And when she died
I couldn’t cry
The pride within my soul
You left me incomplete
Overload as the memories now unfold.

Believe the word
I will unlock my door
And pass the
Cemetery gates

6. Passenger by Deftones

I love this song so much. It’s about being a passenger.. and maybe in more ways than one. *cough*

Still, I want some more
Mirrors sideways
Who cares what’s behind?
Just like always
Still your passenger

The chrome buttons buckle on leather surfaces
These and other lucky witnesses
Now to calm me
This time won’t you please
Drive faster

Roll the windows down
This cool night air is curious
Let the whole world look in
Who cares who sees anything?
I’m your passenger

7. Good Morning Beautiful by Deftones

I really like this song and the lyrics. I think it could make an interesting story depending on how you interpret the lyrics.

One of these days you’ll break me of many things
Some cold white day,
But you’re crazy if you think I would leave you This way

You
Should wake up (Wake up)
Before the wrath comes…

Well I know what you’re like
I’ve read it on the walls
You’re too tired, you choose heaven over the
Earth and me but come on
Please

8. Fast Car by Tracy Chapman

This song is already a story with a full arc, but it could definitely be expanded upon and would make a hell of a novel about struggling, trying to get out of a small town, and learning to be independent.

You got a fast car
I want a ticket to anywhere
Maybe we make a deal
Maybe together we can get somewhere

Anyplace is better
Starting from zero got nothing to lose
Maybe we’ll make something
But me myself I got nothing to prove

9. Stan by Eminem ft. Dido

This is a story already with an ending, but imagine how awesome a crazy fan story could be with this sort of darkness? Someone who takes the lyrics of Kim too far? I love it.

Dear Slim, you still ain’t called or wrote, I hope you have a chance
I ain’t mad, I just think it’s fucked up you don’t answer fans
If you didn’t wanna talk to me outside your concert
You didn’t have to, but you coulda signed an autograph for Matthew
That’s my little brother man, he’s only six years old
We waited in the blistering cold for you,
For four hours and you just said, “No.”
That’s pretty shitty man, you’re like his fuckin’ idol
He wants to be just like you man, he likes you more than I do
I ain’t that mad though, I just don’t like bein’ lied to

 

10. Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen

This is already a story and there’s no way the book could possibly be as epic as the song, but it’s got some good material to work with!

Is this the real life?
Is this just fantasy?
Caught in a landslide
No escape from reality
Open your eyes
Look up to the skies and see
I’m just a poor boy, I need no sympathy
Because I’m easy come, easy go
A little high, little low
Anyway the wind blows, doesn’t really matter to me, to me

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Music and Books

  1. I love the two Eminem songs you have on your list – they would both definitely make an excellent saga of novels. I think Love The Way You Lie would be such an intriguing book, flickering between all of the different perspectives in a relationship. Also Bohemian Rhapsody – yes, yes, yes. What a good book that would be!

    Like

  2. I like train-wreck relationships, Love The Way You Lie would be great. Evanescence! I was thinking of them last night when I was making my list.I don’t know the Deftone songs. 😦
    Fast Car would be fantastic! I mentioned that song in a past music feature of mine and I almost added it to my (super long) list last night. That is a great song.
    Man, Stan would be a crazy novel. I could see Chuck Palahniuk writing something dark like that. Bohemian Rhapsody would be great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

