Review – From A Distant Star by Karen McQuestion

24036086

From a Distant Star

by Karen McQuestion

Summary: When Lucas Walker inexplicably recovers from a terminal illness, everyone is astonished –except for his girlfriend Emma, who never gave up hope. However, as friends and family celebrate the miracle, Emma becomes alarmed: Lucas has changed. He speaks haltingly, can’t recall past events, and even his own dog doesn’t recognize him. Emma begins to suspect something is terribly wrong. What happened to the Lucas she loved? Does his strange behavior have something to do with the shooting light that fell into Lucas’s backyard the night he recovered?

As the two set off on a road trip in search of the truth, the journey takes an unexpected turn. First they’re shot at by unknown enemies and then helped by unlikely allies. Before long, Emma and Lucas are plunged into a desperate life or death race against time.

Packed with intrigue and emotion, FROM A DISTANT STAR is a riveting novel about loyalty and the power of love.

Source: I received a digital copy from NetGalley

Add to Goodreads

Review:

From a Distant Star had a gorgeous cover and an enticing synopsis. I enjoy a good alien story, even if it a romance. However, it appears I’m just not having very much luck with alien books, considering I didn’t fully enjoy The 5th Wave recently and I did not enjoy this book.

I disliked Emma immediately and she never redeemed herself. Despite the fact that my mother in law and I also had some issues getting along in the beginning, I didn’t enjoy how the book vilified Mr. and Mrs. Walker. Emma was seen as this person who totally cared about Lucas and also saw potential in his little brother and his parents were just self centered and awful. In a normal situation, I feel like the parents and the nurses taking care of Lucas were giving decent advice, as his condition wasn’t getting any better. Emma definitely seemed naïve… and extremely smug once “Lucas” started to improve.

Alien Lucas was weird. And the book really wasn’t a romance because Emma was devoted entirely to Lucas, who was taking a backseat due to having an alien cure him and use his body as a vehicle. The whole Men In Black chasing Lucas and Emma because they suspected Lucas might actually be an alien was kind of interesting, but I never connected with Emma or Alien Lucas, so I wasn’t very invested in the book.

I wouldn’t recommend the book. I think there are much better alien romances out there that have more likable characters. It wasn’t a terrible book and I did get through it quickly, but it wasn’t that enjoyable or memorable to me.

2%25252520star

 

 

Leave a Reply

