Review – Iced (Fever #6) by Karen Marie Moning

12444166

Iced (Fever Series #6)

by Karen Marie Moning

Summary: The year is 1 AWC—After the Wall Crash. The Fae are free and hunting us. It’s a war zone out there, and no two days are alike. I’m Dani O’Malley, the chaos-filled streets of Dublin are my home, and there’s no place I’d rather be.
Dani “Mega” O’Malley plays by her own set of rules—and in a world overrun by Dark Fae, her biggest rule is: Do what it takes to survive. Possessing rare talents and the all-powerful Sword of Light, Dani is more than equipped for the task. In fact, she’s one of the rare humans who can defend themselves against the Unseelie. But now, amid the pandemonium, her greatest gifts have turned into serious liabilities.
Dani’s ex–best friend, MacKayla Lane, wants her dead, the terrifying Unseelie princes have put a price on her head, and Inspector Jayne, the head of the police force, is after her sword and will stop at nothing to get it. What’s more, people are being mysteriously frozen to death all over the city, encased on the spot in sub-zero, icy tableaux.
When Dublin’s most seductive nightclub gets blanketed in hoarfrost, Dani finds herself at the mercy of Ryodan, the club’s ruthless, immortal owner. He needs her quick wit and exceptional skill to figure out what’s freezing Fae and humans dead in their tracks—and Ryodan will do anything to ensure her compliance.
Dodging bullets, fangs, and fists, Dani must strike treacherous bargains and make desperate alliances to save her beloved Dublin—before everything and everyone in it gets iced.

Source: I borrowed a digital copy from my library

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I read the first 5 books of the Fever series a couple of years ago and loved the series, but I stopped after book 5 because the series came to a conclusion and I knew that Iced was from Dani’s point of view and I didn’t care much for Dani. I wasn’t quite ready to switch gears, but I knew I would return to this world eventually.

Iced was great! Dani was an awesome character, despite my initial reservations about having her be the main character. She was still the same Dani, but I was ready for her story this time. Like most of the other books in the series, there wasn’t much romance but tons of potential romance and tension, which is what the author really excels at along with creating an unique and amazing urban fantasy world.

Dani could move very quickly and with the Sword of Light, she could take out a ton of Unseelie. She had an arrangement with Inspector Jayne to dispose of Unseelie on a regular basis, but she was pretty much free to do anything… until Ryodan came along and offered her a job.. with some strings. Parts of Dublin were turning to ice and Ryodan enlisted Dani’s help to find out what was happening.

There was so much tension between Dani and Ryodan, which reminded me a lot of the whole Mac and Barrons thing, but yet it was totally different. Dani was untouchable due to her age, but it seemed like Ryodan was staking some sort of claim. He has some tough competition. Christan was a Scottish guy who was becoming/was/might be an Unseelie prince who openly staked his claim on Dani. I don’t really know where Dancer fit in, but I can see him being quite the contender as well.

I loved the plot and how Dani was able to figure out a plan to stop whatever was icing everything and ruining the already torn apart city. I wished that Dani was older, but I hope that the rest of the series moves along quickly so I can find out which bad boy is going to have a shot, if any.

Karen Marie Moning is amazing at the whole urban fantasy thing and Iced definitely didn’t disappoint. I highly recommend it. And if you haven’t read the first 5 books of the series.. READ THEM NOW. They are amazing.

4%25252520star

2 thoughts on “Review – Iced (Fever #6) by Karen Marie Moning

Leave a Reply

