Review – Black Dagger Brotherhood (Books 6, 7, and 8) by J.R. Ward

I’ve decided to combine these reviews because I read them quickly and they are all part of the same series.

 

Lovers Enshrined (Black Dagger Brotherhood #6)

In this “frighteningly addictive” paranormal romance saga there’s a war raging between vampires and their slayers. Here are the stories of a secret band of brothers like no other—six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. And now a dutiful twin must choose between two lives…
Fiercely loyal to the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Phury has sacrificed himself for the good of the race, becoming the male responsible for keeping the Brotherhood’s bloodlines alive. As Primale of the Chosen, he is obligated to father the sons and daughters who will ensure that the traditions of the race survive, and that there are warriors to fight those who want all vampires extinguished.
As his first mate, the Chosen Cormia wants to win not only his body, but his heart for herself. She is drawn to the noble responsibility behind the emotionally scarred male. But Phury has never allowed himself to know pleasure or joy. As the war with the Lessening Society grows grim, tragedy looms over the Brotherhood’s mansion, and Phury must decide between duty and love….

Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood #7)

J. R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood novels have introduced readers to a “different, creative, dark, violent, and flat-out amazing” (All About Romance) world. Now, as the vampire warriors defend their race against their slayers, one male’s loyalty to the Brotherhood will be tested—and his dangerous mixed blood revealed…
Caldwell, New York, has long been the battleground for the vampires and their enemies, the Lessening Society. It’s also where Rehvenge has staked out his turf as a drug lord and owner of a notorious night club that caters to the rich and heavily armed. His shadowy reputation is exactly why he’s approached to kill Wrath, the Blind King and leader of the Brotherhood.
Rehvenge has always kept his distance from the Brotherhood—even though his sister is married to a member, for he harbors a deadly secret that could make him a huge liability in their war against the lessers. As plots within and outside of the Brotherhood threaten to reveal the truth about Rehvenge, he turns to the only source of light in his darkening world, Ehlena, a vampire untouched by the corruption that has its hold on him—and the only thing standing between him and eternal destruction.

Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood #8)

In the darkest corners of the night in Caldwell, New York, a conflict like no other rages. Long divided as a terrifying battleground for the vampires and their enemies, the city is home to a band of brothers born to defend their race: the warrior vampires of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.
John Matthew has come a long way since he was found living among humans, his vampire nature unknown to himself and to those around him. After he was taken in by the Brotherhood, no one could guess what his true history was- or his true identity. Indeed, the fallen Brother Darius has returned, but with a different face and a very different destiny. As a vicious personal vendetta takes John into the heart of the war, he will need to call up on both who he is now and who he once was in order to face off against evil incarnate.
Xhex, a symphath assassin, has long steeled herself against the attraction between her and John Matthew. Having already lost one lover to madness, she will not allow the male of worth to fall prey to the darkness of her twisted life. When fate intervenes, however, the two discover that love, like destiny, is inevitable between soul mates.

Source: I borrowed the books from my local library.

Review:

Lovers Enshrined was about Phury, who took the position of Primale after V mated with Doc Jane and decided it would be awkward to father the rest of the race after that. Unfortunately, Phury wasn’t really that up to it and then of course he decided to bond with Cormia and create a bunch of drama. And then totally shook the foundation of tradition by daring to ask for change. It worked out. I wasn’t a huge fan of Phury because the whole haunted drug addict thing and the innocent virginal thing don’t work for me and that was Phury and Cormia. It was good, but I won’t lie and say I didn’t skim through some of it.

Lover Avenged was the story of Rehvenge and Elehna. I was curious about Rehvenge and I enjoyed getting his story. I liked that he wasn’t a brother, so his life was a little more mysterious. And he was a sympath. I’m still trying to imagine/get over the weird thing he had going on, but I tend to just ignore weird stuff like that (when I read Twilight, I just ignored the fact that they sparkled because it was weird and my brain was like Ok, nope, that’s not a thing, moving on). I really liked Elehna and their story was pretty sweet. I enjoyed the book much more than I thought I would, despite being intrigued by Rehvenge throughout the series. I guess I didn’t expect such awesome twists.. or for him to be so sweet.

Lover Mine was the good stuff. Finally! John Matthew and Xhex have their book and I have been waiting for it! It did not disappoint and I absolutely loved how well they clicked together. John Matthew might be my favorite character, which is weird because I really like darker heroes in books like this. But something was so refreshing about his ability to smile, blush, and be such a gentleman when he’s also super tough. I love that J.R. Ward has a mute character who communicates in sign language and it’s totally not weird at all. I think it adds to his charm. I highly enjoyed their story. It was also refreshing that Xhex wasn’t innocent or virginal like some of the other girls in the series. She was incredibly tough and amazing. The two of them had been eyeing each other in Rehvenge’s club since almost the beginning and the past few books have had some pretty serious angst and even a few moments between them. I was dying to get their story and it was even more epic that I anticipated.

I enjoy this series. I haven’t read the first few books in a really long time, but I still remembered so much about it that when I attempted to reread the earlier books, I was bored because I already knew it all. I just skimmed through a couple of them to get myself back on track with some of the information I forgot over the years. I will probably revisit the series again (and not almost a decade later like I did this time) when I’m in the mood for a steamy paranormal series with as much plot as there is romance.

4%25252520star

 

 

Leave a Reply

