Review – Broken Monsters by Laura Beukes

23341578

Broken Monsters

by Laura Beukes

Summary: A criminal mastermind creates violent tableaus in abandoned Detroit warehouses in Lauren Beukes’s new genre-bending novel of suspense.
Detective Gabriella Versado has seen a lot of bodies. But this one is unique even by Detroit’s standards: half boy, half deer, somehow fused together. As stranger and more disturbing bodies are discovered, how can the city hold on to a reality that is already tearing at its seams?
If you’re Detective Versado’s geeky teenage daughter, Layla, you commence a dangerous flirtation with a potential predator online. If you’re desperate freelance journalist Jonno, you do whatever it takes to get the exclusive on a horrific story. If you’re Thomas Keen, known on the street as TK, you’ll do what you can to keep your homeless family safe–and find the monster who is possessed by the dream of violently remaking the world.
If Lauren Beukes’s internationally bestselling The Shining Girls was a time-jumping thrill ride through the past, her Broken Monsters is a genre-redefining thriller about broken cities, broken dreams, and broken people trying to put themselves back together again.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I borrowed a digital copy from my library for Kindle.

Review:

I picked this up because it was recommend on some Book Riot list, but the major selling point was the blurb by Stephen King on the front cover. I borrowed a library copy and got to reading, ready to be blown away by a great mystery/thriller/horror novel. Broken Monsters was an awesome story with a compelling plot. A bunch of loose threads came together to a stunning conclusion. The book was seriously twisted.

It’s tough to review Broken Monsters because parts of it were so amazing, screwed up, dark, and haunting, while other parts were uninteresting and jumbled. I think the explanation that it was story in which loose threads came together is perfect because that’s how I felt. The loose threads had ZERO connection in the beginning. The book jumped from unknown character to character with bits of pieces that I struggled to find relevant. Of course, those pieces were crucial to the overall puzzle, but I wish the author would have found a more effective way to tell the story. I felt disconnected up until close to the end and I remember feeling a little sad that I missed just a smidge of the WOW factor by not being more into the beginning. I kind of wanted to reread it after discovering how great the finale was so I could appreciate the rest of it, but I was frustrated because I shouldn’t have to.

I think the ending was worth every bit of confusion at the beginning. It was a plot worth reading and it was just as twisted and screwed up as I expected it to be. I recommend the book, but I do like to point out that it’s a bit tough to get through because of the disconnect. Perhaps being able to brace yourself for it may make for a better reading experience.

4%25252520star

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

