Review – Morning Star (Red Rising #3) by Pierce Brown

18966806

Morning Star (Red Rising Trilogy #3)

by Pierce Brown

Summary: Darrow would have lived in peace, but his enemies brought him war. The Gold overlords demanded his obedience, hanged his wife, and enslaved his people. But Darrow is determined to fight back. Risking everything to transform himself and breach Gold society, Darrow has battled to survive the cutthroat rivalries that breed Society’s mightiest warriors, climbed the ranks, and waited patiently to unleash the revolution that will tear the hierarchy apart from within.
Finally, the time has come.
But devotion to honor and hunger for vengeance run deep on both sides. Darrow and his comrades-in-arms face powerful enemies without scruple or mercy. Among them are some Darrow once considered friends. To win, Darrow will need to inspire those shackled in darkness to break their chains, unmake the world their cruel masters have built, and claim a destiny too long denied – and too glorious to surrender.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I purchased a hardcover

Review:

HOLY MOTHERFREAKING SH*T, Morning Star was AMAZING. The trilogy was amazing. There are almost no words.

I decided to reread the series because I wanted the ending of Golden Son fresh in my head. I didn’t forget what happened (how could I have forgotten the worst cliffhanger ever that I had to wait OVER A YEAR to get a conclusion to?) I just wanted a good excuse to re-experience the series again and go from beginning to end. It’s amazing how far Darrow had come up until the end of Golden Son when everything was ripped from under him.

I won’t give away too many details because you know what happened if you read the first two books and if you didn’t, then I want this review to make you want to go buy the trilogy and get to reading.

I literally cried at the end of Morning Star. I don’t really know why because it wasn’t sad. Besides, how the heck does a violent science fiction trilogy make someone cry? But it did. It had a definite ending (no cliffhangers for anyone) and I thought it ended well. Reading it was like being on a roller coaster. It made me an emotional wreck. I had to put it down just to catch my breath. I know I can’t be the only one who can love a story so much that I don’t want to read more, so I put it down, then I keep reaching for it because I want more, but I’m so scared for the characters. What if something even worse happens? AAAH. It was great. The best kind of agony.

Morning Star was violent, dark, haunting, but also hopeful and moving. Darrow was such a multifaceted character. I really felt for him and the people he cared about. The complexities of the characters is what sets this series apart. It kind of does the Ender’s Game thing where it deals with the trials of being a leader and doing the right thing, sacrificing lives, and the vast toll it takes on the leader to have to make those life and death decisions. It was a dystopian, as we got to see the rise of the lowest of the lowColors as he attempted to topple the very foundation of society. It mirrored Greco-Roman society in a clever way. I absolutely loved the science fiction meets mythology world. But the characters are what makes this series absolutely spectacular.

It’s hard to really put into words how awesome the Red Rising trilogy really is. But it’s one of the best science fiction stories I’ve read. (I will admit I am a much bigger fantasy fan, so perhaps the blend of mythology in the societal structure and the dystopian aspects are what drew me to it.) I highly recommend the book, but it’s NOT for everyone. It’s dark, violent, gory, heartbreaking, terrifying, and quite sick in some places.  It’s not for people who want fluffy romance or happy endings. People die. They die violent deaths. Despite the fact that I absolutely love Darrow, there were times when he did some pretty awful things. There are no true heroes who aren’t stained with the blood of someone in this series.

Despite the seriousness of the plot and the characters, there was a true brotherhood and comradery among Darrow and his friends. There were jokes. (There was literally a Bye Felicia thrown into the story. I swear.)  The author knew where to place a good joke. He also knew how to mess with the reader. Darrow didn’t always tell his friends his plan. And he often didn’t tell the reader, either. It added to the already  nail biting, edge of my seat fear I had for his well being. I wasn’t sure if he would live or die.

This series is the best. It’s bloodydamn amazing. Gorydamn awesome.

5%25252520star

 

2 thoughts on “Review – Morning Star (Red Rising #3) by Pierce Brown

Leave a Reply

