Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Love That I Don’t Always Get To Talk About

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday
hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

When a series ends, it’s awesome for us, but then we don’t get the yearly buzz whenever the next book comes out.

There are some standalone novels on this list and they are typically ones that I love, but rarely fit into a “best books for x” lists because I don’t always know where they’d fit even though I love them.

7766064

 

The Taker Trilogy by Alma Katsu

This has to be my favorite gothic historical fantasy because it was so dark and twisted, but so compelling. I recommend this book to any of my friends if I can figure out if they enjoy darker books. It can be a little much for people who aren’t used to reading darker things. The trilogy gets better and better with each book, which is something I love.

 

 

10576365

 

The Darkest Minds trilogy by Alex Bracken

I cried at the end of this trilogy and I love it so much. I wasn’t a huge fan of her newest book, but I definitely don’t want that to taint my love of this trilogy. It was so violent and moving.

 

 

 

11408650

 

The Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin

This is perhaps the only time I’ve seen horror of any kind done right in YA. There were times when I thought Mara was sane and this stuff was happening to her and other times I thought maybe she was crazy and an unreliable narrator. It was madness!

 

 

8490112

 

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor

The trilogy is over and there is no new buzz. I also have the books on kindle so I don’t get to feature them in my bookstagram photoaday posts, which is why I feel like I’ve neglected to shout to the world about these books every so often.

 

 

15863832

 

 

Penryn and the End of Days series by Susan Ee

Another series that has come and gone, but it was amazing. It is super cheap for Kindle, but don’t let the publisher or price tag fool you, it’s a real gem in a sea of awful cheap books. I loved this trilogy.

 

 

1656001

 

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

I defend Stephenie Meyer because I read this book. It blew me away. There is no doubt in my mind that Ms. Meyer can write and tell a unique story with familiar roots. I highly recommend the book.

 

 

7989160

 

The Radleys by Matt Haig

I loved this book. It was about vampires, but it was really about family, temptation, and life in general. It dealt with a lot of hefty themes and used the vampire aspect to symbolize many aspects of life. It was clever and well done.

 

 

 

5759

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

I read somewhere that women don’t like this book. I don’t remember where, but I remember being a tad insulted because I’m a woman and I LOVE this book. It’s brilliant. I know the movie has a cult following and a lot of people focus more on the actual fight club, but some of those people are missing what the story is REALLY about. It’s not some action book where guys punch each other for no reason. It’s so much more than that.

 

13257637

 

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

I think this series is absolutely magical. Every time my husband vapes (that whole trend of ecigarettes) and the vapor falls slowly as it twists into the air, I think about this series. The Drakon turned into dragons, but they also turned into smoke. The mythology was awesome, the writing was downright gorgeous.. I just wish I knew why it’s been so long since the last book was released.

 

 

12982393

 

Dare Me by Megan Abbott

This book was kind of shocking, but I loved it. It was pretty big when it came out as that contemporary novel that pushed the limits of the genre. I don’t see people talking about it now, so I wish I could just throw it out there sometimes.

 

 

 

 

What books do you love that you realize you might not talk about as often as you’d like?

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Love That I Don’t Always Get To Talk About

  1. I still haven’t finished the Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Angelfall series, probably because I don’t want them to end….

    I just recently picked up a copy of The Radley’s – I hope it’s as great as it sounds. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I loved Angelfall, but have yet to read the next two books…it’s on my list of series I want to finish this year. And while I never read Fight Club, I love the movie…does that count? šŸ˜‰

    My TTT.

    Like

  3. Penryn and the End of Days is a gem of a series. I can’t rightly recall when or how I came across it, but I’m so glad I gave it a shot. Your description of the Taker trilogy really intrigued me, I’m going to take a closer look on Goodreads right now. Thanks for the rec!

    Like

  4. My freshman year of college I wrote an extensive analytical paper on Fight Club (book and film). It was pretty badass. I even had a FC die-hard look it over before I turned it in and she – yes, she – didn’t have anything to had. I’ll have to dig up that paper – hope I still have it, four computers later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

