Top Ten Tuesday – Girl Power

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday
hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books Every Girl/Woman Should Read

beyonce-feminism-essay

 

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Why: It deals with identity, mean girls, growing up, and treating people the right way. I read it as an adult, but it made me think about how awful I was in high school to people when maybe I shouldn’t have been.

tumblr_mmnr9rvWvK1rovrf9o1_500.gif

2. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Why: It’s a powerful book about speaking up, sexual assault, and coming of age.

tumblr_mvejdrlPhq1sk3f6go1_500.gif

3. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Why: It’s THE cautionary tale: A dystopia that oppresses women.

Daenerys-daenerys-targaryen-31311337-500-226.gif

4. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Why: This book really spoke to me as a teen/young adult. It deals with depression, but it also dealt with more. It’s about being a woman and wanting a life, not really knowing what it is that you want out of life, and being trapped between being successful or having a family and what it all means.

200_s

5. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

Why: Regardless of how crazy the town thought she was, the main character fell in love with a man who was good to her after spending her life with a man who looked good on the outside and was NOT good to her. It’s about following your dreams, regardless of how outsiders might perceive your sanity. It’s the ultimate “You Go Girl” romance, but it’s also a tragic and moving story.

funny-gif-Watson-you-go-girl

6. The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters

Why: It’s a novel set in a time period when women didn’t speak out, couldn’t vote, and weren’t supposed to have dreams. The rebellious spirit was abnormal and it must be “cured” for a woman to be normal. It’s a powerful “horror” novel.

tumblr_m78fppDidu1rx8txeo1_500

7. A fantasy novel with a strong female protagonist, but this list would surpass 10 if I listed them all. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, etc.

Why: It seems common nowadays for fantasy to involve a kick ass heroine, but that wasn’t the case not too long ago. I cherish the books that feature strong women who don’t need their male heroes to save them. They save themselves. But also, they are still allowed to make mistakes, fall in love, and need help.

tumblr_nbws1z6uzn1rrb9xco1_500

8. A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Why: Maybe this could be categorized in the above section, but I chose to separate it. I read this series as a kid. I was a kid who didn’t fit in, who wore clothes that didn’t fit quite right, who read books instead of made friends, and this book spoke to me in a way that I can’t even really describe. Meg was the main character, she wasn’t all that special either, but she did incredible things for her family. It’s a must read for any misfit kid who also has any interest in scifi/fantasy.

801304

9. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Why: This book is a great psychological contemporary thriller with a killer twist. But that’s not why it’s on this list. It’s here because it talks about what so many women can relate to. Fitting in, trying to be cool, trying to not nag your boyfriend or husband or whoever because that’s not the sophisticated or laid back girl persona you should have. Can we be ourselves when our outbursts are considered hysterical? It brings up some pretty valid points, even though a psychotic character makes them.

16994fb2c771787ba7ba6db9473c524a

10. White Oleander by Janet Fitch

Why: This book features various relationships with different kinds of women. Astrid grew up with her mother, but then she was sent into foster care when her mom murdered someone. Her mother used her beauty as a weapon, but that’s not what Astrid idolized. Still, her own beauty became a problem and it effected her ability to grow in the foster care system. It’s all about the struggles of being a girl. It’s also about growing up, needing a mom, and loving people.

 

th

tumblr_n89rupMKoH1ruze1fo1_500

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Girl Power

  1. Oh, Speak, that book had such a profound effect on me. I wish I had read it in high school with my peers. Sylvia Plath is just such an interesting writer, her poetry always gets to me. Gone Girl was so crazy, but I agree, there are a number of discussions that can take place surrounding that book. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So the only one I’ve read is Before I Fall and I agree with you there! Some of the others I’ve seen in movie form (yes I know bad book nerd of me) some I didn’t know were books lol. But I’m all about girl power so might have to circle back to them. Loved seeing your thoughts on Gone Girl and how it related lol My Top Ten

    Like

    • Ah, I did not put Gone Girl on the list for role models. This isn’t a role model list. But Amy’s cool girl speech is totally relevant to society and the way women are treated. The way her parents did the whole Amazing Amy books and the way she felt unappreciated is relevant. Her being a psychopath, however, is where it goes south lol. 😂

      Like

  3. Wow, one of the best TTT posts I have seen today. Great list. The images and GIFs are all pretty good too. I have only read Gone Girl and Their Eyes were Watching God from your list and loved both books. My TTT today was for memoir lovers.

    Like

    • I have no. His books are so gigantic. I still have to read the Steelheart books and the “sequels” to the Mistborn trilogy. They are so amazing, though. I love his writing.

      Like

  4. What a great list – and your GIF-game is on point! Well done. I agree with kick-ass heroines – even though some people think it’s becoming a “trope”, I think that’s a whole lot better than as little as a decade ago when this was all too rare. I haven’t actually read too many of the books on your list, but The Handmaid’s Tale was life-changing for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I tried reading Before I Fall, but I think I just wasn’t in the mood and abandoned it to come back to later… I also have Speak on my TBR list. LOVED your topic though. Especially #7. LOVE that there are so many great kickass heroines out there now!

    My TTT.

    Like

  6. I’m not a girl/woman, but I’ve read several of these. The Handmaid’s Tale is Atwood at her science fictiony best. I thought the White Oleander was a downer. I mean, you know going in that this woman’s destiny is NOT going to be good. A Wrinkle in Time, yes; I used to teach that book to my grades fours back in the old days. My TTT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

