Review – Burned (Fever #7) by Karen Marie Moning

12444297

Burned (Fever #7)

by Karen Marie Moning

Summary: It’s easy to walk away from lies. Power is another thing.
MacKayla Lane would do anything to save the home she loves. A gifted sidhe-seer, she’s already fought and defeated the deadly Sinsar Dubh—an ancient book of terrible evil—yet its hold on her has never been stronger.
When the wall that protected humans from the seductive, insatiable Fae was destroyed on Halloween, long-imprisoned immortals ravaged the planet. Now Dublin is a war zone with factions battling for control. As the city heats up and the ice left by the Hoar Frost King melts, tempers flare, passions run red-hot, and dangerous lines get crossed.
Seelie and Unseelie vie for power against nine ancient immortals who have governed Dublin for millennia; a rival band of sidhe-seers invades the city, determined to claim it for their own; Mac’s former protégé and best friend, Dani “Mega” O’Malley, is now her fierce enemy; and even more urgent, Highland druid Christian MacKeltar has been captured by the Crimson Hag and is being driven deeper into Unseelie madness with each passing day. The only one Mac can depend on is the powerful, dangerous immortal Jericho Barrons, but even their fiery bond is tested by betrayal.
It’s a world where staying alive is a constant struggle, the line between good and evil gets blurred, and every alliance comes at a price. In an epic battle against dark forces, Mac must decide who she can trust, and what her survival is ultimately worth.

Source: I borrowed a digital copy from my library.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I stopped reading the series after book 5 because it was such a major conclusion. Also, book 6 was from a different point of view altogether and it was not a POV I was ready for at the time. I recently read book 6 and enjoyed it, especially after getting used to the main character shift, so I figured I’d keep reading the series even though it’s not really Mac’s story anymore.

I have to admit, I’m frustrated for a variety of reasons. To start, the book began with a scene I vaguely remembered from the beginning of the book, but it did not go the way the scene went, which confused me. It wasn’t even mentioned until near the end of the book, when we discovered the reason for the existence of that particular scene, which explained the scene. But for over 50% of the book, I had no idea what it all meant.

There were entirely too many points of view. Often, they didn’t make any sense and they completely pulled me out of the storyline and POV I was invested in. I remember being on the edge of my seat for the previous books and sometimes the scene DID switch when I desperately wanted answers, but the strategy was definitely overused in this book with the constant switches. It was maddening.

As much as I was skeptical about reading a book from Dani’s point of view in book 6, I was kind of relieved because Mac and Barrons were finally a thing and sometimes, when authors continue a series after a HEA, they completely ruin whatever the romantic couple had going for them. I was terrified that the series would do this to Mac and Barrons… and I was kind of right. They fought, didn’t communicate well, and were generally not much different than they were before they became a thing, with the exception of maybe admitting they sleep together and possibly connecting with their whole nonverbal communication thing. Which was mostly disappointing.

Basically, Burned was a hot mess and I was frustrated for the majority of the novel. I am interested in a ton of characters, but I would have rather had it all from mostly Mac’s POV and had her “see” more scenes than switch constantly and have to keep track of other character’s emotions as they went through unimportant motions that maybe would later be important, but just didn’t seem incredibly important at the time. The angst just doesn’t work when I’m being shuffled all over the place. Reading a book shouldn’t feel like I’m being passed from person to person in a mosh pit, full of chaos and the fear of being dropped. It should be much more seamless than that, like I’m being passed gracefully to the next dance partner in a ballroom.

I am a die hard fan of books 1-5. I completely love the Fever series, but I think I’m just going to have to pretend the rest of the series doesn’t exist if the author can’t get it right. This was not the experience I wanted from Burned, especially when I was finally getting back to Mac.

2%25252520star

Leave a Reply

