Top Ten Tuesday – LAUGH

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday
hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh

  1. The Princess Bride by William Goldman. The Absolute best humor, fairy tale, adventure story ever.
  2. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. I laughed out loud. It’s such fun science fiction.
  3. The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne. It’s an urban fantasy involving a druid and his talking Irish wolfhound. It’s fun, but also action packed.
  4. Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison. I LOVED this book as a teenager and I can’t believe how many people haven’t read it. It’s soo the struggle of a teenage girl. I highly recommend it.
  5. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde. I know people rave about this, but I just figured there was no way it could STILL be funny or entertaining, but I realized I was wrong when I read it last year. It IS funny.
  6. The Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones. It’s so funny, it’s almost too much. It’s an entertaining urban fantasy with a bit more humor than most.
  7. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding. Before you turn your nose up, this book is hilarious. The movie was incredibly annoying to me, but I decided to read the book one day and I enjoyed it. The movie doesn’t do it justice at all.
  8. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Sure, it’s on the sad book list, but the reason it makes you cry so much is because you also laugh. You’re just on a roller coaster of emotions. It’s definitely funny. (Just.. bring some tissues.)
  9. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. As a military spouse, I can tell you sometimes the military makes NO sense. It’s not quite as crazy as it is in the book, but I can definitely see how the military would inspire such a quirky book. It’s really funny and highly enjoyable.
  10. The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Really, anything JLA writes is incredibly fun and her main characters make you laugh.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – LAUGH

  1. Catch-22 is HILARIOUS. If you like that style of humor, I also loved Hotel New Hampshire and World According to Garp by John Irving. And – I have been meaning to read Princess Bride *forever* – I did not realize it was humorous! More reasons to hurry up and get to it already 🙂

    Like

  2. Third time I am seeing Catch 22 listed as a funny book today, I always assumed that it is a serious,complex classic.Angus, Thongs and Full-frontal Kissing is also in a number of lists, I really need to read that. Sounds like a fun book. I loved Bridget Jones and The Fault in Our Stars made me cry but still enjoyed the book. Great post.

    Here is my TTT:https://dwgitau.wordpress.com/2016/04/19/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-that-will-not-make-you-cry/

    Like

  3. There are three series I really want to start this year with The Iron Druid Chronicles being one of them. I really need to get busy, but so many review books get in the way. Great list and thanks for sharing! I had Bridget Jones and First Grave on the Left on my list as well.

    Like

  4. I cannot believe I left off HHGTTG, it’s tailor made for this week’s theme!!! At least I remembered the Princess Bride, and totally agree with Bridget Jones too! This is the second list with Charley Davidson, so I’m definitely adding the first book to my wishlist! Thanks for stopping by my blog too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

