Review – Marrow by Tarryn Fisher

25379213.jpg

Marrow

by Tarryn Fisher

Summary: In the Bone there is a house.
In the house there is a girl.
In the girl there is a darkness.
Margo is not like other girls. She lives in a derelict neighborhood called the Bone, in a cursed house, with her cursed mother, who hasn’t spoken to her in over two years. She lives her days feeling invisible. It’s not until she develops a friendship with her wheelchair-bound neighbor, Judah Grant, that things begin to change. When neighborhood girl, seven-year-old Neveah Anthony, goes missing, Judah sets out to help Margo uncover what happened to her.
What Margo finds changes her, and with a new perspective on life, she’s determined to find evil and punish it–targeting rapists and child molesters, one by one.
But hunting evil is dangerous, and Margo risks losing everything, including her own soul.

Source: I purchased a kindle copy.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

It’s difficult to review Marrow because I absolutely loved most of it, but completely disconnected with some of it. I think it’s a Tarryn Fisher side effect for me and I need to suspend my disbelief for me to truly enjoy 100% of her books.

Margo grew up in a bad neighborhood with a mom who sold her body. She watched people do horrible things to each other and she became a different type of person. Through her friendship with Judah, a handsome handicapped boy down the street, Margo started to believe in something better. As she stripped herself of what brought her down, stood her ground more, and came out of her shell, she realized she had a penchant for violence.. but her victims were never innocent.

I loved the book so much. And then it stabbed me in the heart, which was fine, because I was still on board and loving everything. Except then it totally ignored the knife it stabbed me with and I couldn’t figure out if I was stabbed or not.(This is the closest explanation I can come up with that doesn’t involve totally spoiling the plot.) I can compare this story to another… except mentioning the title of said book/film would be a spoiler. Or would it? I have no idea! I’m frustrated because I don’t know what it all MEANS if I don’t know Margo and what actually happened. Can she be redeemed or is she too far gone? I don’t know. I would have preferred it if the author either committed 100% to stabbing the reader or if she never would have involved the knife at all. The not knowing just kind of frustrates me and I can’t make heads or tails of it.

Basically, Tarryn Fisher HOOKS me completely until the last bit of her books where she pulls the rug out and then keeps messing with stuff and I don’t believe the story, don’t know what to believe, or am generally squinting at the words and pulled out of the story. I get back in, but it’s not the same. What is it that does that to me and why can’t I just be IN the book for the entire story?

Regardless, Marrow was an awesome book. I loved every lesson, every bit of growth that Margo showed me. I loved Judah, the heartbreak, the love, and the way that Margo felt so passionate about protecting the good in the world. I highly recommend it, but I warn you… it does have a frustrating plot device that I still can’t quite figure out. Maybe if you’re prepared, you’ll enjoy it just a tad more.

I cannot gush enough about the writing. The writing is superb. The characters came alive and the story was incredibly engrossing. It was easy to get lost in the story, despite the different directions it took. Reading a Tarryn Fisher novel is like being a part of a work of art with violent brushstrokes and beautiful colors.

I have not lost hope. I have more Tarryn Fisher to read and I will figure out how to read her books without feeling odd about it somewhere near the end.

4%25252520star

 

Leave a Reply

