Review – Breakable (Contours of the Heart #2) by Tammara Webber

17936925

Breakable (Contours of the Heart #2)

by Tammara Webber

Summary: He was lost and alone. Then he found her.
And the future seemed more fragile than ever.

As a child, Landon Lucas Maxfield believed his life was perfect and looked forward to a future filled with promise — until tragedy tore his family apart and made him doubt everything he ever believed.
All he wanted was to leave the past behind. When he met Jacqueline Wallace, his desire to be everything she needed came so easy…
As easy as it could be for a man who learned that the soul is breakable and that everything you hoped for could be ripped away in a heartbeat.
  

Source: I purchased a paperback.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I loved Easy, which was book 1 in this series, so I picked this up when I saw it on the bargain section at Books a Million. Of course, it’s been awhile since I read Easy, so I didn’t realize upon first glance that this was the same story from the POV of Lucas instead of Jacqueline. Despite not exactly remembering the story line (I only vaguely remembered pieces of it), it wasn’t difficult at all to dive in and find my way. There were sections that were from his childhood, when he still went by Landon, which were new material and very intriguing to read about. The big reveal about his past was a surprise in Easy, so I enjoyed getting some background into who he was, what motivated him, and what he triumphed over.

I enjoyed Breakable and I felt like we got to know Lucas in a more intimate way by watching him deal with his mother’s death and his father’s detachment. It was also nice to see things from his perspective as he met Jacqueline and slowly fell in love.

I feel like Breakable could have been a part of Easy and been one giant book, but I don’t feel like I got too much “regurgitation” in Breakable. However, it has been awhile since I read Easy, so perhaps if you read them close together, it may be a different experience. I recommend the book if you were a fan of Easy and interested in getting more from Lucas. It was well written and I enjoyed Lucas as a character.

4%25252520star

 

Leave a Reply

