Top Ten Tuesday – On A Whim

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

25203675

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. I honestly just thought it had a pretty cover, so I requested to read it on NetGalley.

10576365

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. I hadn’t heard of the book when I requested it on NetGalley, but it quickly became a favorite. I rushed out to buy a hardcover when it released just to have it in my hands. I own the trilogy and recently bought a copy for my brother.

15839976

Red Rising by Pierce Brown. Despite later reading it based on a friend’s recommendation, I requested it on NetGalley beforehand based on the description, so I suppose this counts. I now own a beautiful paperback and the rest of the series.

13455782

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. After looking through the shelves of Barnes and Noble one day with my husband, I couldn’t really find something I really wanted to buy with my coupon. Shatter Me was on an endcap and I liked the cover. I never expected to fall in love.

20821614

You by Caroline Kepnes. Now, this WAS on my wish list based on a friend’s recommendation, but I accidently bought it without even realizing I wanted it. (That’s how I know I have a problem.) So, I’m counting it.

7766064

The Taker by Alma Katsu. I entered a Goodreads giveaway and won… and didn’t expect to be blown away by the story. I have the series in paperback and frequently recommend it.

15863832

Angelfall by Susan Ee. It was a Read Now on Netgalley that had a cool description.. turned out to be ABSOLUTELY AWESOME.

9565548

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers. I had heard of it, but I only grabbed it from Netgalley because it was a Read Now. It turned out to be the most amazing trilogy! I have them all on kindle.

13257637

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe. Also from Netgalley. I own the kindle versions of this and the sequel and I’m impatiently waiting on book three……

8113512

Poison by Bridget Zinn. Another Netgalley book. This turned out to be a big hit with bloggers after release and I’m glad I was able to read it and be a part of the awesomeness.


 

After compiling this list, I realize that 80% of the “on a whim” books are from NetGalley. It’s amazing that books I was randomly curious about with no expectations became treasured favorites. I suppose it’s almost better to read the books before the hype sets in. There’s no pressure to scroll through NetGalley and decide if you want to request a book. Sometimes, they have Read Now books, meaning you don’t even have to put in a request, you can just read it. And considered I own the books outright for the majority of the ones on the list, I guess I understand why authors and publishers use reviewers in the first place. Not only did they gain my business, I know I’ve highly recommended all of these and have even gotten friends to buy a copy because I’m so enthusiastic. This list prompt really put that in perspective for me.

What amazing books have you picked up on a whim? Did you find you had more ARCs on your list like I did?

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – On A Whim

  1. I’ve been thinking about getting my hands on “The Star Touched Queen”, but I’m still not sure. I’ve never heard of “Poison” but that sounds like an interesting one! “The Sweetest Dark” doesn’t look too shabby either!

    My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

