May Owlcrate Unboxing – Steampunk

IMG_1664

May’s Owlcrate theme was Steampunk!

IMG_1665

I love the postcard design. I used to think I wasn’t a big fan of steampunk, but the idea is actually pretty cool and I love the modern mixed with vintage themes. It’s not my “lifestyle” as it seems to be for other people, but I knew I would totally appreciate this box.

 

The Goods:

IMG_1667IMG_1668IMG_1670

A ring inspired by The Infernal Devicesย designed by Sparks Emporium.

A skeleton key pendant necklace by Crystal Compass Designs

Steampunk nail wraps by Espionage Cosmetics

A metal accessory by Elope

A minimalist art print by Creative Daffodil

The Book: Everland by Wendy Spinale with temporary tattoos

 

My thoughts:

The book sounds super fun.

I LOVE the skeleton key necklace so much. I love my metal pin, but I have no idea what to do with it, so that’s a challenge. I’m sure I can stick in on something, but what? The ring has a cool design, but I’m a little disappointed by the way it feels. I’m sure so much went into making it, but it has that gumball machine feel to it. The print is nice and I taped it on the side of my bookshelf. I’m not really into doing my nails with crazy stuff, but if I ever did a steampunk themed party or dressed up for Halloween, I would totally accessorize with them.

I love that Owlcrate tried a cosmetic and jewelry theme and I love that they attempt to try new things. I think the teasers about something from The Infernal Devices had many of us eager and it was probably the least cool thing in the box in terms of jewelry. But the skeleton key necklace was a total win for me.

What did you think of this month’s box? Would you subscribe? It’s still my favorite bookish kind of box, though I’m still trying new ones to see if I like any of them better. So far, Owlcrate is the best of the book and accessory box world. June’s theme is Royalty. If you’re interested in subscribing, click here!

 

 

5 thoughts on “May Owlcrate Unboxing – Steampunk

  1. Very cute stuff! I like steampunk and the necklace is awesome! Maybe if you wear a hat or belt you can put the pin on there or just wear it as a brooch. Not sure which one it is. There is something that looks like an air balloon? Is that it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

