Top Ten Tuesday – Feeling Different

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday
hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Eight Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

Reviewing is no exact science. A large part of how much I like a book depends on my mood and my expectations. Sometimes, a reread in the right mood is all you need to fall in love, while other times, a reread makes you cringe when you wondered how on earth the book could have ever been a favorite. Sometimes, you just don’t know how you feel and it isn’t until later that you realize you must have loved it if you think about it in a positive way.

tumblr_m1yy41nLPV1r21vhmo1_500awful.gif

 

1.The Mortal Instrument series by Cassandra Clare

The first time I read the books was awesome and I loved them. I even loved then when I reread them when the last book released. When I’m in the moment, I’m enjoying every second. However, I don’t have much respect for the author’s shady history and the fact that every single book takes place in a world that has been questioned numerous times for it’s originality. I really wish she’d write something completely different so that I could determine if she’s as talented as I want to believe she is. Part of me hates the series and I think negatively about it because of all the accusations and drama and also because everyone has to be paired off into relationship duos instead of being their own people. And while you guys are glaring at me and about to unfollow me.. lol.. I love the series and how it makes/made me feel and the awesome world! I still watch Shadowhunters and feel like maybe I’m being unfair.

2. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I was intrigued by the synopsis. Then I read Red Rising by Pierce Brown and realized how similar it sounded. I almost didn’t buy it, but then the YA hype got to me. When I read it, I rated it highly because, while it does share many common themes, it’s a totally different story altogether. However, I realized when the sequel came out and my love for the Red Rising trilogy has reached an all time high, I refused to buy it. My mind was like OMG you are NOT buying this Red Rising rip off sequel, Megan. But, like, that attitude came out of left field considering I defended the similarities in my review. I have no idea how I feel about it because it is apparent some part of my mind thinks it was a little bit of the same plot. Maybe it was just that Glass Sword shares the same beginning letters as the Red Rising sequel, Golden Son, and it’s just starting to be crazy weird.

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I remember loving book one so much. Finally, a fierce heroine I could respect! But I find that I don’t even recommend the series because I hated the ending so much. Not only was I annoyed by how big of a pansy Four ended up being, but the whole reason for the society was just something I could not get over. I know other people are mad at the end for other reasons, but the end result is that a lot of us hated the end. I wish it was a standalone and I got to wonder why the world was the way it was.

4. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I would, without hesitation, consider it a favorite and recommend it. So why the heck did a rate it 3 stars? I don’t even know. It has stayed with me and perhaps grown on me.

5. Unwind by Neal Shusterman

I rated it 5 stars the first time. The reread was not at all successful. I had so many questions about the world building and I guess I just let it go the first time around because I loved that the concept brought about conversations about major issues in society. After starting the second book and realizing it’s literally just a far fetched science fiction that will never make sense or be plausible or even really go “there” like I wanted, I realized I would not rate it 5 stars today.

6. Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

I rated it 2 stars. How evil of me. I know I expected Colleen Hoover and I did NOT get that. Now that I know and understand Tarryn Fisher books, I would definitely like to reread that one…

7. Matilda by Ronald Dahl

Somehow, at some point, I gave it 3 stars. I remember it being a childhood favorite. But I never liked the actress who played Matilda in the movie. I thought she was annoying as a kid. I realize now that I’ve seen my own childhood copy of the book that I really did cherish it and the movie polluted my opinion.

8. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

I rated it 3 stars when I read it because I felt a certain way and I even wrote in my review that I knew I would eventually sort out my feelings. I decided later on at some point that I loved it. I would not hesitate to change it to a 5 star rating today. It’s one of my favorites that I reflect fondly upon.

horribleamazing

 

What books do you feel differently about now that some time has passed?

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Feeling Different

  1. I had the same thoughts about Divergent too. Loved the first book, not so much the second, totally didn’t enjoy the last one at all. Interesting observation on the GS initials. Haha.

    Like

  2. Eeeep, Red Queen is on my list too! I was FURIOUS about the Red Queen rip off part when I first read it! But I still gave it 3-stars because of the Maven-plot-twist. But now? Nope. I’m just not happy about how many series it “borrowed” from and why it’s so famous?!? Merp.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

