Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

17378508

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)

by Maggie Stiefvater

Summary: There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.
Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.
The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.
Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

13173775_824251597680265_3902621132396186986_n

Review:

I have put off reading Blue Lily, Lily Blue because it takes me forever to get through the reread (and I always reread so that I’m totally caught up when I start the newest book) because I savor the writing so much when I read this series. I waited for the release of The Raven King to finally start and I’m glad I did because I wanted to pick up the finale in the worst way when it was over!

What began as an epic, but still pretty straightforward quest has gotten exponentially more complicated as the story goes on. The series is largely about the quest, but also about friendship, and those friendship dynamics have changed drastically. The characters have connected in the strangest of ways. I ached for Blue to acknowledge how she felt about Gansey, for other characters to admit their own complicated feelings..

Ronan is perhaps my favorite character.. although I really love Gansey, so maybe I mean next to Gansey. I’m not really sure. But I couldn’t stand him and his awful attitude, perhaps for the same reasons Adam initially scoffed at him, but he has become incredibly complicated and my heart aches for him and the weight of all that he’s had to deal with. But then I dislike him when I get a fictional song that everyone else hates stuck in my head.. lol. Squash one, squash two…

Also, Noah.<3  And Jesse Dittley. Sigh. These characters are so amazing.

I just.. it’s so hard to even begin to talk about my feelings about this characters. Words fail me because Maggie Stiefvater has already used hers to create this world and these characters and I just feel like mine aren’t even necessary or good enough.

I highly recommend Blue Lily, Lily Blue. It’s the best in the series so far. The characters have come so far, lost so much, and must face even more harrowing tasks in order to solve the biggest dilemma….

Make way for the Raven King.

Star 5

 

Leave a Reply

