Review – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958

Me Before You

by Jojo Moyes

Summary: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Source: I purchased a paperback.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I have seen people praise Me Before You for awhile, but I always avoided it because I didn’t like the cover. It made it look like some old 80’s romance novel about a divorcee or something. Honestly, that’s what I thought, and seeing it listed as a contemporary romance novel certainly didn’t alert me that it wasn’t what I thought. I finally saw the movie previews going around and realized that I probably would enjoy the story, so I picked up a copy and dove right in.

I write my reviews and schedule them in advance, so there’s no telling when this review will actually go live, but I feel the need to explain that I just finished The Serpent King, sobbed until I had no more tears left, and woke up the next morning determined to read this book before it sat on my TBR shelf until the movie ended up on basic cable (because I do that) and I wanted to read it ASAP. Looking back, I’m not sure I should have dove into a book that is what this book is about because it was NOT FUN crying and sobbing 2 nights in a row.

tumblr_lntaq7dtSS1qcnhhzo1_r2_500-thumb-550x258-57562tumblr_mvejdrlPhq1sk3f6go1_500

 

Me Before You was really good and very well done. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it didn’t immediately turn into some sappy romance novel, though I knew, somehow, it would break my heart along the way. I initially disliked Lou and her family, but she grew on me with her colorful tights and determination. I disliked Will, too, actually, now that I think about it because OF COURSE he would be rude and awful and hate everyone’s pity. But maybe that’s because I see the actor as Finnick from THG and that’s kind of the same personality Will had. The two of them thrown together was hilarious and doomed at the same time, but I loved every second of it. I love it when I start to feel like I know the characters and become invested.

The book is indeed chick lit. It is designed to make you cry and it will. And a lot of people hate books like that, but sometimes, a good old fashioned cry fest is perfect. Seeing characters you care about become better people when they take some risks is awesome and there’s always a time and place for fiction like this. I’m glad I finally picked it up and I definitely recommend it. But, fair warning, if you’ve just had a cry fest, maybe read something funny to lighten you back up before picking this up. Unless you’re into torturing yourself?

Star 4

 

3 thoughts on “Review – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. Ah, I loved the book, and just saw the movie this week (and thought it was great). Nice review! I”m glad you ended up enjoying the book more than you’d expected to.

    Like

  2. I’ve been seeing this book EVERYWHERE recently (I guess since the movie has just been released) and I think I’m going to need to give in and just read it already! My mum recommended it to me months ago but, like you, I was put off by the cover. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it so much after finally getting past the cover. I should probably try and do the same. It’s been a while since I’ve ugly cried over a book, anyway…

    Like

Leave a Reply

