Review – Diary by Chuck Palahniuk

22284

Diary

by Chuck Palahniuk

Summary: Misty Wilmot has had it. Once a promising young artist, she’s now stuck on an island ruined by tourism, drinking too much and working as a waitress in a hotel. Her husband, a contractor, is in a coma after a suicide attempt, but that doesn’t stop his clients from threatening Misty with lawsuits over a series of vile messages they’ve found on the walls of houses he remodeled.
Suddenly, though, Misty finds her artistic talent returning as she begins a period of compulsive painting. Inspired but confused by this burst of creativity, she soon finds herself a pawn in a larger conspiracy that threatens to cost hundreds of lives. What unfolds is a dark, hilarious story from America’s most inventive nihilist, and Palahniuk’s most impressive work to date.

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I read a lot of Chuck Palahniuk and I love his writing. It’s weird, but there’s always a point to the madness and a bit of humor. Fight Club is still my favorite and some of his books have left me vaguely aggravated that it just wasn’t what I wanted it to be. Still, I read his books because I know I’ll find more that entertain the crap about me without feeling like it’s a regurgitated Fight Club that isn’t as good. And I was right.

I really enjoyed Diary. It was very much like a Chuck Palahniuk book and I loved the narrator. It surprised me and it had been quite some time that I was genuinely surprised by the direction of his stories. I knew what was happening, but I did not expect such a dark and twisted narration that hooked me the way that it did. I loved that it was written in a diary type of format as Misty writing to her husband in case he ever read it.

The book was weird and had some otherworldly kind of elements to it and some surprising revelations. I loved the plot, but the way it was written made it more engrossing and readable, despite being somewhat vague at some point. It’s the kind of dark and slightly gross story that played in my head as a series of close ups that are designed to confuse you, but also slightly terrify you and I love how the author is able to conjure up those weird images and scenes in my head.

Chuck Palahniuk isn’t for everyone. And I think all of us fans have different books that we like and other ones that just don’t do it for us and I honestly think it depends on what you expect and which ones you read first. But even his more disappointing books are good and thought provoking and just.. well.. they are just in a league of their own and I’ve found I’m not good at describing them.

I loved Diary and it was just the spark I needed to fall back in love with his stories. I guess it was different in some ways than the other ones I’ve read in just the way I needed.

Star 4

 

One thought on “Review – Diary by Chuck Palahniuk

  1. I’ve been a huge Chuck fan for years; I love the earlier stuff like Diary, Lullaby, Survivor and Invisible Monsters. I think he’s lost it a bit in the last few years; I wasn’t a big fan of Damned or Doomed and I really hated Beautiful You. I think he needs to reread his own books to recapture the sick, sick magic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

