Review – Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

18163646

Falling into Place

by Amy Zhang

Summary: On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.
Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I purchased a Kindle copy.

Review:

This book is proof that moods affect my reading tastes. I started this book ages ago and hated it, so I just stopped after the first few pages. I just couldn’t deal with the depressing teenager who wants to kill herself story. But the mood struck me and I was on an airplane with my Kindle ready to read it and enjoy it.

I liked Falling into Place. It was the story of Liz Emerson. She had it all, but had nothing really at all. She realized she was living in a world where she got everything she wanted, she destroyed people, relationships, and no one even dared to get in her face about it. Her mom was absent and buried in her work, leaving Liz alone with the silences of her mind. She was the ultimate screwed up teenager. So she decided she would kill herself.

Often, I feel like I read books about bad girls, mean girls, and it girls. And I read books about teens who hate their lives and don’t fit in. And I read books that deal with suicide or at least wanting to die. It’s not often that those things describe one person. I loved that Liz was awful, but knew it. She reacted. She destroyed reputations. And she felt alone and awkward and felt like no one really understood her. She was a character I hated, but also loved at the same time. The writing is what really stood out and I enjoyed the way it flowed.

I definitely recommend Falling into Place. The story arc was great. I felt like there was closure, some redemption, and I felt like it all kind of worked in a way I didn’t expect when I cracked open the book the first time.

Star 4

Leave a Reply

