My First Uppercase Box – June Unboxing

uppercase-logo-header

It’s no secret that I love Owlcrate. I rave about them frequently and enjoy having a bookish box come to my house each month. There are so many out there to choose from, so it’s been my goal to try a few and see which ones work for me on a regular basis.

IMG_1986

 

So whats the deal with Uppercase?

Uppercase comes with a signed YA book (or a signed book plate), but less accessories than Owlcrate. It is the only monthly YA subscription box to come with signed books. It comes with 1-2 bookish accessories of high quality, too.

 

The goods:

1466129484531

 

  • My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows (It was signed by ALL THREE authors)
  • My Lady Jane Bookmark
  • Deathly Hallows Wooden Magnet from Juniper & Ivy Designs
  • Tote designed by Risa Rodil

 

 

 

What did I think?

I have to admit, I had a hard time cancelling this subscription and I still don’t know that I should have cancelled because I liked it so much. I love Owlcrate, but Uppercase was great. I loved the feel of the bag and the simplistic packaging. I love that, despite not being familiar with the book, it was signed by 3 very awesome authors I love. I absolutely loved the magnet. And that tote!!! And the price was very good. Also, I didn’t realize how much I’d enjoy the fact that Uppercase includes my name on the note that has what the box includes. It felt really personalized for me, even though I know we are all getting the same boxes. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised.

So why did I cancel? I had to decide if I was ready to switch from Owlcrate to Uppercase and I’m not. I like the themes (and I can decide to opt out of a theme that doesn’t interest me if that ever happens). I could have kept both, but I’m not willing to pay ~$50 for 2 boxes when I would only get 2 books (regardless of how awesome the extra goods are.) I have been concerned there will come a time when I get too many accessories from Owlcrate and now I know if that happens, I can switch to this. This is the first subscription box I’ve received that made me question my loyalty to my first one, Owlcrate, so it’s definitely a good one!

I definitely recommend the subscription box. I loved the packaging, too, as there wasn’t any waste or plastic, so that’s a plus for those who are concerned about excess packaging in their subscription boxes. The fact that the books are signed is a huge plus if you’re into that sort of thing, too. It’s a great box with some nice accessories.

I recommend trying it out. It’s hard to convey the awesomeness of having a mystery box to come home to. I get so excited and it’s a huge perk of this subscription box.

9 thoughts on “My First Uppercase Box – June Unboxing

  1. Judging by the hints given by OwlCrate for the June box, are you afraid Uppercase Box and OwlCrate will contain the same book?

    Like

    • Ooh, I didn’t even think of that, but that’s a legitimate fear and possible reason to not have both boxes. I don’t think they’ve been the same in the past, so it would be a huge coincidence.

      Like

    • Of course, I happened to see an Owlcrate Unboxing post before receiving mine and it DOES contain the same book. Just my luck! They’ve never been the same in the past.

      Like

      • I thought it might be the same with OwlCrate saying the June book would be a hilarious historical fiction! Whoops! It must be good 😉

        Like

  2. These book-themed box subscriptions look like so much fun. I personally probably wouldn’t subscribe (I like the freedom of choosing my own books), but it’s always neat to see what’s included beside a book. I’m really looking forward to picking up My Lady Jane as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

