Feature and Follow Friday – Standalones

feature-and-follow

Feature and Follow Friday
hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read

This week’s prompt:

Name 1 or more standalone books I wish was a series

I may be in the minority with this opinion, but I actually like it when books are standalones.

shrug gf

Not that I don’t love my favorite series and love when each book comes out. Some story arcs need to be longer and I appreciate that. Most of my favorite stories are series.

However, I can’t be the only one who notices when a story that could have been in 1 book is dragged out to fit into 3 books and can’t help but think it’s a strategy to gain more hype and make more money. Right? Remember those TV shows that were so awesome and in season 395 they start to get really stupid? What if those series just ended while they were at the top? Think about how much more you would love that series if they weren’t dragged out just to stay relevant.

I can’t think of anything off the top of my head that I truly wish was longer, even if I think to myself that I wish it was in a way. It’s normal to want more of something, but I know it usually ends terribly for me when I want more. Would I love to revisit some standalones? Sure. But I’m actually glad that it’s over and there’s a conclusion. What if a sequel just totally ruined everything?

alice-alice-in-wonderland-curiosity-trouble-Favim_com-369708

Second book syndrome is a thing and it’s ruined entire storylines for me. Awful finales have also ruined other series for me. I love when a book ends and I’m left wondering what happens next. I love vague endings. I love when a story concludes and I’m left with the height of a romance and I don’t have to watch an author who was so good at angst struggle to create unity and have the love interests work together in later books.

I think there needs to be more standalone stories. Give me longer books, but keep them in one book. Give me story arcs that don’t have year long gaps while I wait for what happens next.

gif

 

What about you?

If you’re a new follower, make sure you leave your link so I can follow you back!

 

 

 

One thought on “Feature and Follow Friday – Standalones

Leave a Reply

