Review – I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

26026062.jpg

I Let You Go

by Clare Mackintosh

Summary: The next blockbuster thriller for those who loved The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl…a novel with “an astonishing intensity that drags you in and never—ever—lets you go.” (Daily Mail, UK)
On a rainy afternoon, a mother’s life is shattered as her son slips from her grip and runs into the street . . .
I Let You Go follows Jenna Gray as she moves to a ramshackle cottage on the remote Welsh coast, trying to escape the memory of the car accident that plays again and again in her mind and desperate to heal from the loss of her child and the rest of her painful past.
At the same time, the novel tracks the pair of Bristol police investigators trying to get to the bottom of this hit-and-run. As they chase down one hopeless lead after another, they find themselves as drawn to each other as they are to the frustrating, twist-filled case before them. Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner, says, “I read I Let You Go in two sittings; it made me cry (at least twice), made me gasp out loud (once), and above all made me wish I’d written it . . . a stellar achievement.” *Peter James, author of Want You Dead
  

Source: I received a digital copy from Netgalley

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I Let You Go was a mystery involving a hit and run driver who killed a little boy. The police were working diligently to track down the identity of the driver. We also got the perspective of Jenna who was trying to make a fresh start and learn to survive without the prospect of having her child. The accident replayed in her mind over and over again and she was struggling to build her own life.

The reviews have been absolutely amazing, so I feel very much in the minority by saying that, while the story was interesting, it did not blow me away by any means, mainly because of an entire perspective/point of view.

I loved the parts of the book written in first person through Jenna’s point of view, but the point of view of the detective was very difficult to get through. The dialogue felt forced, unnatural, and very clunky. The characters were the same two cops I’ve seen on just about every cop drama with the same old issues. Their conflicts weren’t unique and neither was the predictable nature of the relationship between the partners and between the detective and his wife and his family. It was literally eye roll inducing. I found myself dreading each time I’d go to the next chapter and saw it was back to the detective. And yet, Jenna’s story absolutely captivated me.

There was a twist and I admit that it was not a twist I saw coming. I also enjoyed the way the book handled the backstory once the twist was revealed. For that, I feel like the book was pretty good and enjoyable.

Personally, I feel that the cop drama section could have been axed entirely and been told through a series of new articles in which the police revealed whether or not they had leads because it really didn’t matter in the end.

I enjoyed I Let You Go for the most part and I would recommend it if you enjoy it when books take you through a story and then completely throw you for a loop and surprise you (in a good way).

Star 3

 

 

Leave a Reply

