Restless Waters (Left Drowning #2) by Jessica Park

26174821

Restless Waters (Left Drowning #2)

by Jessica Park

Summary: A storm is coming, and with storms come restless waters.
Pulled from the depths of catastrophe and depression, Blythe McGuire has learned to escape from her past while embracing the future. A future now entwined with the Shepherd siblings.
With Chris, she shares a staggering romance that kicks heartbreak’s ass.
With Sabin, she shares an intense friendship, one that’s becoming more complicated than either had expected. A friendship now being put to the test because Sabin’s brutal past still haunts him. Because trauma is the gift that keeps on giving without mercy.
Now Sabin is the one left drowning and struggling to breathe, and his turmoil threatens to send all three into dark currents they cannot escape. Even after going through her own hell, saving Sabin will take much more than Blythe had anticipated. Their connection and their love could help, but getting him to reach for her hand could be Blythe’s biggest challenge ever.

Source: I purchased a Kindle copy.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I loved Left Drowning, so I figured I’d pick up Restless Waters since it was the sequel. I was more than ready for the author to blow me away like she did with the first book.Restless Waters took place after the events in Left Drowning. Sabin, who struggled with alcohol abuse in book one, wasn’t healing as well as everyone else in the sequel. He had a close relationship with Blythe, but even she didn’t seem to be able to help him.

So here’s the thing. I feel like this book just shouldn’t exist. I loved Left Drowning and this book just seems to take a perfectly good story and make me regret liking the characters. I remember feeling a bit odd about Blythe’s relationship with Sabin.. and Restless Waters gave me good reason to feel so odd. When I saw that this was Sabin’s story, I suppose I assumed it would take the normal contemporary route and give him a relationship, which is something I would have enjoyed reading about.

Spoilers ahead….

Basically, Sabin was jealous of Blythe and Chris and acted out. Blythe found herself jealous that Sabin was having one night stands, so they had a moment where they further explored the depth of their friendship only to come clean to Chris, who acted like it was no big deal and got them to work it out that they were close, but not actually in love with each other. I could have done without that whole storyline. Blythe literally ignored Chris when she discovered an old wedding invitation for his previous wedding in his wallet, but she runs off and kisses his brother?

End of spoilers.

I wish Left Drowning was a standalone.

Star 2

 

 

Leave a Reply

