Feature and Follow Friday – Characters

 

feature-and-follow

Feature and Follow
hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee

This week’s prompt:

What is your favorite character archetype(s)?

 

I’m a big fan of Villains and Anti Heroes and Gamma Heroes.

I think they are complex and interesting. I don’t always root for evil. I don’t even really want bad guys to always do horrific things. It’s just that the good old boy scout heroes and cookie cutter save-the-day kind of heroes (like Superman. *rolls eyes*) are boring to me. When confronted with one, I find myself siding with the villains. And if I have to choose how I want my hero to be, I prefer the more charismatic, often narcissistic and selfish “good” guys.

tumblr_o5dwn728bo1usr4jgo1_500

tumblr_n3hz5rgGRD1svhh8eo1_500

There’s always a reason why people turn to evil and I’m intrigued by that background and story arc. I also think that a lot of those villains are redeemable or not as bad as they seem, so I find myself interested by those story lines. And I love seeing a bad guy fall for someone who actually makes them better. (Like Warner from Shatter Me.. *swoons*)

I just think knights in shining armor and boy scout heroes can be naïve, which is why I typically can’t root for them. They want to do things for the greater good and always do the right thing, but they ignore their own wants and needs, if they even fully recognize them at all. People are complicated, evil is complicated, and the world is not black and white. It’s not always so easy to be good.

tumblr_o6t7n8T4Hr1vprz02o1_500

tumblr_n6535ienqI1stu7hho2_250

I like the more selfish heroes who know they are doing something wrong and who know what they want and aren’t afraid to be selfish about it. Maybe they take it too far (I’m looking at you, Darkling) but at least they are intelligent and have desires aside from saving the world.

batman-bruce-wayne-christopher-nolan-clown-Favim_com-1847889

What types of characters do you enjoy?

4 thoughts on “Feature and Follow Friday – Characters

  1. A great choice! I love the anti-hero, and the really, REALLY reluctant hero. I didn’t choose them as a favorite, but they’re way up there!

    Lucifer! I thought I was the only person in the universe who loved that show!

    Heather

    Like

      • Lucifer is the bee’s knees, as my grandma used to say. He’s rich and multi-layered. Bad-ass, but lost and a little confused over what the detective does to him. He’s changing so much, so fast, he can’t be sure he’s even Lucifer anymore. I was so glad it didn’t get canceled! It was on the bubble for a while, but it finally got picked up! Now we just have to wait until the fall. *sigh*

        Like

  2. I like heroes too but I totally get what you mean! I mean Klaus or Loki or Supernatural’s Crowley are such great examples too! Anti heroes are really interesting!
    New Bloglovin’ follower.
    My FF

    Like

Leave a Reply

