Review – Hamlet by William Shakespeare

1432

Hamlet

by William Shakespeare

Summary: Hamlet is the story of the Prince of Denmark who learns of the death of his father at the hands of his uncle, Claudius. Claudius murders Hamlet’s father, his own brother, to take the throne of Denmark and to marry Hamlet’s widowed mother. Hamlet is sunk into a state of great despair as a result of discovering the murder of his father and the infidelity of his mother. Hamlet is torn between his great sadness and his desire for the revenge of his father’s murder.

Source: I purchased a Kindle copy.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I somehow got through all of school without ever having the opportunity to read Hamlet. (I also didn’t read Macbeth.) Instead, we read Othello and some other Shakespeare plays. I have always wanted to eventually read it, but I have to admit that I am not a play person. I’ve read some amazing plays, but I just don’t like the layout. I want a story with details, not cues and dialogue. But I finally purchased a copy and set out to get through Hamlet without getting a passionate English teacher there to make me savor the dialogue!

I actually really liked Hamlet. The plot was fairly straightforward and basically it didn’t end well for anyone. I suppose that’s Shakespeare for you, though. I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did without the structure of a classroom, but it wasn’t difficult to get through and it was quite short.

I’m sure everyone knows the story, but I thought it was quite entertaining.

These comic strips recap the play better than I can, ha!

ac4d06da0b77e2215d45371add8a38cf971808be41c8cf317297448e824631c9hamlet

 

But seriously, I enjoyed the play and I’m glad I finally read it, even if it is a decade later than I was probably supposed to.

Star 4

Leave a Reply

