Top Ten Tuesday – New Things

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday
hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About Something After Reading Them

 

  1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I actually own a recurve bow and have done some target shooting, but I never got very good and I’m rusty now. It made me break out the targets and let a couple arrows loose when it first came out.
  2. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I don’t believe in spiritual stuff, but I loved the way the Sargent’s read their tarot cards and I would love to learn more about the cards, even if I don’t necessarily believe they tell me anything. I read somewhere that it is still interesting to get a tarot reading because it forces your brain to connect things it might not have connected previously and that’s always fun.
  3. Divergent by Veronica Roth. I already shoot rifles at a range, but I’ve never thrown knives. I’ve always wanted to see how difficult it would be. I certainly couldn’t stand there like Tris did!
  4. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury made me want to learn more about politics and misinformation.
  5. World War Z by Max Brooks made me want to devour all things zombie. I bought a few zombie combat guides after reading it and totally enjoyed them.
  6. Matched by Allie Condie made me go on a poetry kick for a little while. I loved how much Ky and Cassia connected over poetry.
  7. The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi made me wish I kept a journal and wasn’t afraid to cross things out and write in the margins.
  8. The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead made me vaguely interested in self defense. Rose was so fierce!
  9. The Rag and Bone Shop by Robert Cormier made me actually do some research on false confessions and the way that police questioning has changed over the years.
  10. The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe was something I read in school that totally opened me up to horror as a genre.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New Things

Leave a Reply

