Review – My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman

 

My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry

By Fredrik Backman

 

Summary: From the author of the internationally bestselling A Man Called Ove, a novel about a young girl whose grandmother dies and leaves behind a series of letters, sending her on a journey that brings to life the world of her grandmother’s fairy tales. Elsa is seven years old and different. Her grandmother is seventy-seven years old and crazy, standing-on-the-balcony-firing-paintball-guns-at-men-who-want-to-talk-about-Jesus-crazy. She is also Elsa’s best, and only, friend. At night Elsa takes refuge in her grandmother’s stories, in the Land of Almost-Awake and the Kingdom of Miamas where everybody is different and nobody needs to be normal. When Elsa’s grandmother dies and leaves behind a series of letters apologizing to people she has wronged, Elsa’s greatest adventure begins. Her grandmother’s letters lead her to an apartment building full of drunks, monsters, attack dogs, and totally ordinary old crones, but also to the truth about fairytales and kingdoms and a grandmother like no other. 

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review

I loved My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry (MGAMTTYSS). It was moving, adventurous, and I couldn’t put it down. 

Elsa was a big reader and grew up with her quirky grandmother who told her stories about the Land of Almost Awake and the Kingdon of Miamas where they met in their dreams and had adventures. Elsa learned lessons about life from her adventures with her grandmother. They lived in a building with several other flatmates and Elsa had known most of them for a long time, but as a child, her interpretations of people were both spot on and completely incorrect. Children have such a way with understanding the world. It’s like they pick up on the slightest of things, yet have these wild imaginations. She saw everyone ignore the drunk lady as if she didn’t exist, but Elsa noticed a sadness in her that she wondered about. Of course, the adults all knew exactly what the cause of her sadness was, but adults tend to ignore difficult things. 

Seeing the world through Elsa’s eyes was wonderful, especially as she was at the stage of her childhood where she was unraveling the very fabric of her world and learning who adults are, that they had pasts, and that people you feel like you know everything about can do things you never expected, in both good ways and bad ways. Her grandmother’s letters sent Elsa on a quest of a sort and brought her closer to some of the people in her life, while also pulling the veil from her childlike eyes.

MGAMTTYSS is the kind of story I absolutely love. It contained the fantasy and make believe world of Miamas that the fantasy and fairy tale lover in me adored. It also had the coming of age, growing up and realizing adults are complicated type of storyline that I also enjoy. The characters were amazing. I loved everything about the story and closed it at the end with tears in my eyes. It was moving, adventurous, and captivating, as well being fun and humorous when the situation presented itself.

I highly recommend MGAMTTYSS, especially for the childhood bookworms. I feel like, despite being a bit different from Elsa, I related to her and remembered being similar at that age. I loved her character and the hilarious antics of her crazy grandmother, too. My grandmother and I have been close for most of my life, so I felt like I related to that as well, though my grandmother is much less crazy. However, my grandmother did tell me she enjoyed being old because she can just say whatever is on her mind and get away with it, and I feel like Elsa’s grandmother felt the same! The book is definitely enjoyable and the perfect feel good book. I didn’t shed enough tears to call it a tearjerker, but it was touching and it resonated with me because I grew to care about the characters.

Star 5

 

Leave a Reply

