Review – Chasing Impossible (Pushing the Limits #5) by Katie McGarry

 

Chasing Impossible (Pushing the Limits #5)

By Katie McGarry

SummaryAvailable by popular demand, the latest installment of the beloved, award-winning Pushing the Limits seriesTough and independent, seventeen-year-old Abby lets very few people into her inner circle. It’s common knowledge in her Kentucky town that she deals drugs, but not even her closest friends know why. But when a deal goes south and Abby’s suddenly in danger, she finds herself reluctantly forced to lean on daredevil Loganโ€”a boy whose restless spirit matches her own.Logan has his own reasons for wanting to keep Abby at arm’s length. But he never expected to find in her the one person who might help him face the demons he’s tried so hard to run from. Together, Abby and Logan will have to make a decision: let their current circumstances weigh them down foreverโ€ฆor fight for the future they both thought was impossible.

Source: I preorder a Kindle copy

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I love Katie McGarry books, especially the Pushing the Limits series. I couldn’t wait to get more characters and I enjoyed the romance between Logan and Abby. However, despite enjoying the book, I feel like it’s one of my least favorite in the series. I just didn’t like Abby as much as I enjoyed the other street kids and I think it hindered my enjoyment a bit. 

This may sound a tad insensitive, but I didn’t like that Logan’s only issue was his diabetes and why he let that seem like such a big deal that made him weak. I’m not saying diabetes isn’t scary, especially type 1, but I’ve never in my life viewed it as a big illness that makes people weak or seem less strong due to having it. Perhaps I’m just ignorant as to how sufferers feel, but it just doesn’t carry the stigma that I think Logan felt it did. I could be incorrect and I’m also not a teen and I realize teens will make anything something to make fun of you about. I’m not sure if the book shed light on the issue for me or if Logan was kind of making it a bigger deal than it had to be. I guess it’s a good thing I’ve never looked at someone and thought about their diabetes first, but I think it’s a sad thing if sufferers feel that way about themselves. 

While the book was a great contemporary romance, it fell short of my expectations because Abby and Logan didn’t feel as real to me as the other characters. Abby’s drug dealing thing was always a bit over the top, so I just felt like I didn’t “believe” her struggle the way I did with the other down on their luck kids. I felt like Logan’s diabetes, while eye opening for me, was just a conflict thrown in so that Logan could try to relate to Abby and have a secret. Their whole conflict seemed contrived in a way that shocked me after so many believable contemporaries in the series. 

The story was good and I enjoyed the action and the way the characters fell. It was sweet and full of conflict as are her other books. I am not sure if this just wasn’t as good as I’d hoped and my expectations were too high or I just wasn’t in the mood for this type of story. It wasn’t a bad story, it just isn’t one of her best. 

 

Star 3

2 thoughts on “Review – Chasing Impossible (Pushing the Limits #5) by Katie McGarry

  1. Awww. Pushing the Limits is one of my favorite series as well, and it sucks that this wasn’t as good. I know a lot of people were looking forward to Abby’s story and it’s sad that it didn’t live up to your expectations. I don’t know when I would get to read this, but I hope that I have more luck than you did. Great review!

    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor: BLOG || VLOG

    Like

Leave a Reply

