Top Ten Tuesday – REWIND: Most Intimidating Books

 

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

REWIND: Choose a topic from the past

Most Intimidating Books

I have a ton of books on my shelves that I just HAD TO BUY OMG and now they are just sitting there and I can’t bring myself to pick them up because something about them seems so daunting.

 

 

1. IQ84 by Haruki Murakami

2. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

3. Insomnia by Stephen King

4. The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King

5. Persuasion by Jane Austen

6. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

7. The Tommyknockers by Stephen King

8. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

9. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

10. Treasure Island reasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson 

 

As you can see, length is the typical reason I avoid picking up a book. I worry about getting “stuck” on it. The other reason is whether or not it’s a classic and I worry it will be written in a way that I’ll find difficult to trudge through. 

UPDATE: I made this post a week or so early and I actually ended up reading the first book in The Dark Tower series. The rest of the series is still daunting, but I keep finding the next books I don’t have in used bookstores or bargain sections, so at least I am acquiring them. I’m starting on book 2 now!

What books would end up on your list?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – REWIND: Most Intimidating Books

  1. *snicker* I keep finding the Dark Towers books second hand too, so now I have the first five – and I still haven’t read number one πŸ™‚

    I have tried to select fewer reading challenges this year – because when I’m pressed for time I tend to go for slimmer volumes.
    These have been hanging out in my to-read stacks for a loong time:

    “Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrel’ by Susanna Clarke
    “A Suitable Boy” by Vikram Seth
    “2666” By Roberto Bolano
    “Night Film” by Marisha Pessl

    Like

  2. Really interesting topic choice. The Historian and The Dark Tower Series are both novels I’d like to read to. The length is very intimidating though.

    Like

  3. My copies of the Dark Tower series are also found in secondhand book sales, seems like there’s a lot of them around. I haven’t started reading them yet, but they really feel intimidating. 1Q84 is also terrifying. I’ve heard a lot of good things, but that size just scares me.

    Like

  4. The Dark Tower series is definitely worth it! It took me a long time to pick up the first book and I read the whole thing within 3-4 years I think.. I am sure I will re-read it again in a couple of years as it was so good πŸ™‚
    American Gods is pretty great as well! Insomnia is still on my wishlist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

