Review – A Court of Mist and Fury (ACoTaR #2) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorn and Roses #2)

By Sarah J. Maas

 

SummaryThe #1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas’ spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
 

Add to Goodreads

Source: I preordered a hardcover. (I know I know, it’s been on my shelf for far too long!)

 Review:

OMG. Wow. That was amazing.

Ok. Let me start from the beginning. I let this book sit on my shelf because I was afraid to read it. I was afraid, especially after reading Heir of Fire in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas that she would somehow create this love triangle and I wasn’t ready for that. While I fully support the love interest shift in the Throne of Glass series, it was something I also wasn’t ready for and fought against at the time and later realized it made so much sense, but I swore that it would make no sense for Feyre to shift her allegiances. I mean, Feyre literally gave her life for true love, right? How can you just ignore that and have another love interest? I was so afraid because I didn’t want a story I loved so much and an author I love so much to go the stereotypical YA fantasy route.

I could not have been more wrong about everything. I worried for nothing. This is mother flipping Sarah J. Maas we are talking about. Did I REALLY think she would let me down? Of course she wouldn’t! She would NEVER made Feyre the idiot bumbling YA heroine we are all used to seeing. She would not let Feyre (or any of her characters) blindly follow some dark and handsome hero just because OMG he’s like, hot. So, if you were in the same boat as I was, don’t be afraid to pick this up.

A Court of Mist and Fury was so well done. It was brilliant. It weaved a story that didn’t ignore the emotions, the trauma, the rage, and the predicaments that Feyre experienced. I feel so stupid for ever thinking the author would let Feyre treat love like it was nothing. In fact, while I wasn’t wrong about there being another type of love interest, it came in another way.. the way that it was handled was one that explored the darkness of stifling relationships, the trauma of being tortured and the aftermath of what that torture does to people. It was so well developed.

Feyre was changed after her time in the mountain. Quite obviously, she was no longer human. But more importantly, she was a different person who went through certain experiences that altered her. And she was stifled. So her story took a turn that maybe we weren’t expecting a Beauty and the Beast type of retelling to go. But it took a turn into the dark and violent world of the Fae and Feyre was no longer the heroine with the happily ever after, but the fierce and powerful defender of the realm. 

I loved Feyre’s transformation. She made her own friends, she learned her own lessons about the world, and while she did get help, she was no one’s pet and no one could stop her. 

It is difficult to review the book because I don’t want to give anything away, but it’s over 600 pages, so a LOT happens and I’ve felt a million different emotions after finishing. What distressed me and impressed me and made me scream or cry and shut the book before finishing because I was scared to continue and then frantically read the next page because I just had to see how it would turn out… Or blush and feel my cheeks heat with the knowledge of what would happen next or when my eyes widened in surprise when something was revealed just when I thought I knew what was happening.. Those things are all based on other things that may or may not be spoilers. But I can tell you that I did all of those things and more when I was reading and I lugged this giant hardcover to the beach where I was terrified I would ruin it but the option of taking another book was UNacceptable and I just had to take this one. 

A Court of Mist and Fury is a million times better than A Court of Thorn and Roses. I know that the Throne of Glass novels do the same upward arc where you can’t even believe that the story could even GET that much better, but it does with each progression. Sarah J. Maas is a goddess of fantasy and a strong writer and I love her stories. I can’t believe I ever doubted that this book would impress me. It blew me away and I highly recommend it.

5 stars isn’t even enough.

Star 5

 

Leave a Reply

