Review – Elixir by Hilary Duff

Elixir 

By Hilary Duff

SummaryClea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. The daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent Washington DC politician, she has grown to be a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a career that allows her to travel to the most exotic parts of the world. But after Clea’s father disappears while on a humanitarian mission, Clea’s photos begin to feature eerie, shadowy images of a strange and beautiful man—a man she has never seen before.

When fate brings Clea and this man together, she is stunned by the immediate and powerful connection she feels with him. As they grow closer, they are drawn deep into the mystery behind her father’s disappearance, and they discover the centuries old truth behind their intense bond. Torn by a dangerous love triangle and haunted by a powerful secret that holds their fates, together they race against time to unravel their pasts in order to save their lives—and their futures.

Source: I purchased a hardcover. 

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I’m participating in the 2016 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge and one the categories is Book Written by a Celebrity. I don’t like a lot of nonfiction, especially those written by celebrities because I feel like it’s all the rage to have a book and a show and a clothing line and I don’t think they have the passion that actual writers do when they set out to write a book. I also didn’t want to read a book written by a famous author because that’s kind of a cop out. I mean, Stephen King might be a celebrity, but he’s famous for his writing, so I felt like I had to find something else in order to truly challenge myself. I stumbled upon Elixir as it’s written by Hilary Duff, an actress and sometimes singer. It’s a legitimate novel. It’s fiction and, while it may have been written as the next cool thing for a person famous in the teen age group, at least she attempted to write a novel and not a memoir, you know? 

I had high hopes, actually, because the synopsis is right up my alley. It seems like something I’d read even if I wasn’t purposefully seeking it out.

Elixir had a decent plot and an interesting beginning. I liked Clea and her determination to do what she loved without having her fame attached to it. I liked her outlook on life and I enjoyed both of her friends, Ben and Rayna. However, the book relied on the reader to believe in the strong connection to the mystery man in the photos once they met in person and I was not “buying” their connection. The rest of the book was quite good, but Clea took a dive off of the “I don’t believe in soul mates” cliff and headed straight into “OMG I love you forever” territory immediately. Even for a YA novel, it was just not something I could get on board with because it was so over the top, fast, and was not well developed. I wished there was more intrigue and more SOMETHING between Sage and Clea and once the story went in that direction, the rest of the plot and conflict was based off of you having to have that belief that Sage and Clea were meant for each other. Even Fallen did a better job with the whole reincarnated love type of situation and even that was pretty full of insta-love madness. 

I’m disappointed because I really wanted to like the book and be impressed that someone who may not have always had the drive to write a book could write a good one and still be awesome at other things. Unfortunately, it just did not do it for me. I have to admit, I am a bit intrigued and may read the rest of the series just to see if perhaps she grows as an author throughout the series. 

Star 2

2 thoughts on “Review – Elixir by Hilary Duff

Leave a Reply

