Top Ten Tuesday – Setting

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 

Top Ten Books Set in the South

 

 If you google southern literature or books set in the south, I feel like you get a lot of historical fiction or actual Southern literature rooted in southern traditions. But some of the books we see all the time are set in the south, too, without necessarily being Southern. (And yet still so southern in all the right way… Beautiful Creatures is a good example of that.) So with a bit of research (and my own memory), I found some great books set in the South that I love. 

1. The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater. Set in Virginia. On a ley line.

2. The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden. Set in Louisiana. Complete with witches and vampires. 

3. The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. Set in South Carolina. And the most Southern YA I think I’ve encountered, but it’s so so good. Full of that small town conflict and love. 

4. The Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. Set in Lousiana. With vampires, witches, shifters, and even fairies. Such a great urban fantasy series. 

5. The Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin. Maybe you don’t think Florida counts, but my husband is from Florida and I promise it’s very much still the South. Maybe not Miami, where Mara lives, but it’s hot and there are gators. 

6. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. Set in South Carolina. One of more historical southern books, but it’s so good. 

7. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. Set in North Carolina. (But filmed in South Carolina! I know this because I’m from Charleston and I got married in an area where it was filmed!) I will always love this romance!

8. Looking for Alaska by John Green. Set in Alabama. Which I honestly had to look up because I totally forgot. 

9. 11/22/63 by Stephen King. Set in Texas.

10. The Ten Tiny Breaths series by K.A. Tucker. Set in Florida.

Omg!

 I did all of this work and I compiled my list and I didn’t even mention one of my favorite 2016 reads and my favorite Owlcrate book!!!

11. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner! Set in Tennessee and it’s Oh So Good. It’s a must read. 


What are you favorite southern books?

 

