Review – Flawed by Cecilia Ahern

 

Flawed (Flawed #1)

By Cecelia Ahern

SummaryYou will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.
But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.
In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

Source: I received a hardcover in an Owlcrate
 

Add to Goodreads

 

Review:

I’m not a big fan of Cecilia Ahern. I think she comes up with awesome plots, but I don’t think she’s a strong writer. I wondered whether I would enjoy her attempt at YA fiction, but my expectations were quite low. 

Flawed was okay. The story was fairly character driven in a society where regular laws, like the kind you and I are aware of, exist. The biggest difference was the Guild who punished people for flaws in their characters and prevented people who were deemed Flawed to be in positions of leadership. This was to prevent the economic collapse due to dishonest people and other flaws. I was impressed with the concept because it’s interesting and I felt like I was certainly reading the book at a great time.. When our candidates for president are some of the worst people I’ve seen in politics in a long time. I could definitely get on board with having people pay for their character flaws if they can’t be convicted of a crime.. At least don’t let them do things like RUN FOR PRESIDENT. Right?

The beginning of the book was interesting, but then it started to get a little crazy. The act of deeming someone Flawed seemed a bit flawed, but if all they did was basically prevent people from being in positions of power, it didn’t seem that bad. But then it got worse. Suddenly, you weren’t allowed to help people who were Flawed and that’s how Cecilia found herself in a screwed up situation and where the story started to make no sense. I can get on board with a society that wants to prevent people who make bad choices from leading. But now they can’t be helped? They can’t sit with other flawed people? This seems like an issue that never would have gotten as far as it did. Perfect people have compassion and would want to help flawed people in order to feel better about themselves, we already know that as a society. So, if I reject helping a Flawed as being a problem, then I basically reject the rest of the book. Flawed people were essentially “factionless’ people in Divergent, but you’d get in trouble for even thinking about helping them.

Society went from having this minor thing where they deem people as Flawed to having this power hungry Guild looking to mark people as Flawed to promote their own agendas and what not, which is the very thing the whole system rose up to prevent. 

I get that Celestine basically fell down this rabbit hole for doing what she thought was right, but I just rejected the whole system and couldn’t really get on board with the conflict. I feel like dystopias should be somewhat probable or believable. Pulling the wool off of the eyes of an innocent girl may work for some people, but the system seemed designed to fail and therefore wouldn’t have lasted long enough for people to have treated Flawed citizens the way they did. If it’s been happening for any length of time, it should not be quite so easy to tear apart logically.

While I basically rejected the whole premise of the book, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be and I flew through it. It was certainly not difficult to read and I feel like fans of YA dystopian novels will like it as well. Flawed was better than I expected and, while I didn’t really like how unbelievable the conflict was, I’ve seen worse in YA dystopias, so I can’t completely knock the book. It’s not nearly as ridiculous as a lot of dystopian worlds and the book did a fairly good job at keeping it character based and interesting. 

Star 3

One thought on “Review – Flawed by Cecilia Ahern

Leave a Reply

