Review – Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

 

Girl in Pieces

By Kathleen Glasgow

SummaryCharlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The thick glass of a mason jar cuts deep, and the pain washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

Source: I received a digital ARC from NetGalley

Add to Goodreads

Review:

 Girl in Pieces was about Charlie Davis. She cut herself with glass. She was homeless at some point. The book began with Charlie in a mental health clinic and the story followed her journey from the clinic to the outside world where she tried to make a normal life for herself.

I really liked Girl in Pieces. The beginning was a sort of Girl, Interrupted story with the various personalities of the girls in the institution. Charlie wasn’t much of a talker at first, but she formed a connection with one of the doctors and tried her hardest to stay healthy once she was on the outside. 

The book could probably fit into the whole agonizing YA problem contemporary like the Ellen Hopkin books, but the synopsis makes it pretty clear that it’s about recovery and its difficulty. I liked the harsh, dark edges of the story. I liked being in Charlie’s head and watching her go through her struggles. Maybe that’s because I don’t have any of her issues and I’m intrigued by those who do, so getting inside of a character with self harm tendencies was fascinating and raw and eye opening. Of course, there were moments where I watched Charlie make the wrong decisions, but it’s such a slippery slope, especially when you don’t have a family to take care of you. I was on the edge of my seat rooting for her.

Girl in Pieces was very well written. Some chapters were just a few paragraphs, some were longer, and some were just focused on one particular moment or idea, so despite the length, I tore through the book quickly. The choppiness was perfect for the subject matter. I felt like I knew Charlie and I wanted her to get better and be able to notice when she was being irrational or folding into herself or letting other people dictate her life. 

I don’t know that the book will be for everyone because it can be tough to be inside of someone who has problems and who isn’t immediately getting better. But I felt like it was realistic because recovery isn’t easy and Charlie’s fears were pretty legit, so it’s like you knew she was being tempted by the wrong solution, but you understood the problem. It was such a journey and I definitely enjoyed it. I loved the characters and I highly recommend the book to people who can handle the subject matter. I’m not much for trigger warnings, but this book is seriously screwed up, so if you have ever had self destructive tendencies, it can probably be very hard to read. Or maybe therapeutic. I guess it just depends. I think honest struggle is better because it can reach out and hit home for people going through similar problems, but maybe that’s because I find those who act like it’s easy to get over major problems like drugs, alcohol, eating disorders, self harming, etc are just being fake and weird about it. So it just depends on what type of person you are, but it’s a good book nonetheless.

I am glad I got the opportunity to read the book and I definitely recommend it. I loved it.

Star 4

Leave a Reply

