Top Ten Tuesday – Back To School

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday
Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Back To School

Top Ten Books I Read In School

 

1. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. It’s one of my all time favorites.

2. 1984 by George Orwell. To be fair, I hated this book in school. But I read it later as an adult and appreciated it way more.

3. Animal Farm by George Orwell. I liked this one in school as well as an adult.

4. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. This will always be one of my favorites. I loved the heck out of this book.

5. The Tell Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe. We did this whole Poe block in my sophomore or junior year of high school and I loved everything I read!

6. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. Apparently, it’s weird that I read this in school, since most people didn’t, but it was VERY good.

7. The Giver by Lois Lowry. I think I read this back in middle school, but it’s a definitely favorite.

8. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. Oh, how I loved this book so much. 

9. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. I mean, who doesn’t love this book?

10. The Odyssey by Homer. I hated The Iliad with a passion, but I loved The Odyssey and didn’t groan when we had to read it in school. I even liked watching the movie. I love Greek mythology, though, and we didn’t have awesome Percy Jackson books to pique our interest back then!

I did enjoy a few plays: The Crucible by Arthur Miller, Othello and A Midsummer Night’s Dream from Shakespeare, Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett, A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen, and Long Day’s Journey Into Night by Eugene O’Neill. 

I enjoyed a few more classics typically read in school, but a lot of them were ones I had to pick up later on in life because my class didn’t read them, like Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck and Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. 

What books did you read in school that were amazing?

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Back To School

  1. Despite it being considered a classic (right?), I’d never read “The Giver” until the film came to DVD. I read it quickly so I could get in my (rented) DVD watch, and confess, I didn’t love it as I expected to. But part of that could be that I sped through it, plus it was a holiday week with family, planning a meal, and all the jazz. Fun list! 🙂

    Like

  2. We’ve read a lot of the same books: 1-5, and the Odyssey. I’m not sure I share your opinion of the Iliad, though; I liked it, though I would NEVER had read it unless forced. My TTT lists some sci-fi cat books to read instead of doing homework.

    Like

  3. We seem to have a similar focus this week. I forgot about Fahrenheit 451, which really should have been on my list this week! I had to really prune my list this week, and took out Poe and The Crucible, but they both were powerful reads from my school days. Great list!

    Like

  4. Edgar Allen Poe will forever remain as one of my all-time favorites. We actually read excerpts of Their Eyes Were Watching God but not the whole book in high school. My guess is they didn’t want us reading any of the more “sexual” scenes but still thought the book was overall important…or we were just busy and nobody had time lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

