Review – Ariel: The Restored Edition by Sylvia Plath

 

Ariel: The Restored Edition

By Sylvia Plath

Summary: Sylvia Plath’s famous collection, as she intended it. When Sylvia Plath died, she not only left behind a prolific life but also her unpublished literary masterpiece, Ariel. When her husband, Ted Hughes, first brought this collection to life, it garnered worldwide acclaim, though it wasn’t the draft Sylvia had wanted her readers to see. This facsimile edition restores, for the first time, Plath’s original manuscript — including handwritten notes — and her own selection and arrangement of poems. This edition also includes in facsimile the complete working drafts of her poem “Ariel,” which provide a rare glimpse into the creative process of a beloved writer. This publication introduces a truer version of Plath’s works, and will no doubt alter her legacy forever. This P.S. edition features an extra 16 pages of insights into the book, including author interviews, recommended reading, and more.

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I read Ariel as part of the 2016 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge for a book of poetry. I love Sylvia Plath’s novel, The Bell Jar, and her collection of short stories in Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams. I have always wanted to read more of her poetry, so I picked up Ariel

I have a weird relationship with poetry. I enjoy it, but I wouldn’t run around with stacks of poetry or expect to be as moved by a poem as I am by a full story. Even epic poems wear on me after some time. But sometimes, poems shock my soul and I do become the sort of person who would want to tattoo lines of it on my body or something. I suppose I save myself for the hard hitting poems and I don’t dabble in much poetry as a regular thing. Since I’m not a young girl obsessed with the idea of death, perhaps picking Plath seems weird, but I really liked the themes of some of her work.

Ariel had some great poems. Some of them were ones I couldn’t relate to, but I found some favorites and I’m glad I at least have one work of poetry to stick next to the stories I love so much. 

I loved the added portions of the book by Plath’s daughter. She wrote a great poem about the way society views her mother and I feel like that one hit me the hardest out of them all. I enjoyed getting a bit more information about the whole Ariel controversy.

Star 3

Leave a Reply

