Review – The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower #2) by Stephen King

 

The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower #2)

By Stephen King

SummaryAnd the tower awaits….

The Second Volume in the Epic Dark Tower Series…

The Drawing of the Three

While pursuing his quest for the Dark Tower through a world that is a nightmarishly distorted mirror image of our own, Roland is drawn through a mysterious door that brings him into contemporary America.

Here he links forces with the defiant young Eddie Dean, and with the beautiful, brilliant, and brave Odetta Holmes, in a savage struggle against underworld evil and otherworldly enemies.

Once again, Stephen King has masterfully interwoven dark, evocative fantasy and icy realism.

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review:

The Drawing of the Three was much better than The Gunslinger. I felt like I was entering a world of fantasy and darkness. Roland’s venture in a different time periods was where King really came out in the writing and I felt more comfortable. King has no business in the Wild West or in places that don’t exist, but in the real world, in most time periods, he really shines. 

Still, I hope the series gets better. I’m not convinced it’s worth reading and I’m not sucked in just yet. The second book was a much needed improvement on the first one, but it’s so rough around the edges and not nearly as good as his other books. I know that King has it in him to write epic novels that aren’t necessarily horror novels, like The Stand, The Talisman, or 11/22/63, but if I didn’t already know about those, I would wonder what the heck he was thinking by writing this series. So far, it’s a far cry from amazing. King is typically great about his character building, but I don’t feel as if I really know any of the characters and I’m bothered by Roland specifically.

The Drawing of the Three was interesting and it had it’s awesome moments. The “lobstrosities” were pretty much terrifying and the whole crazy woman switching personalities was entertaining. The tone was completely different from The Gunslinger, so I’m just not sure what to expect and where this is going.

I will continue the series, but I have to admit that I’m really not sure what the fuss is about. I’m a Stephen King fan and love most of his work, but this series isn’t wowing me very much. I notice most of the reviews on Goodreads are from people who are rereading or remembering from when they read the series in the past, so they are writing reviews based on having read the entire series. Which gives me hope that there will be major improvements as King explores more aspects of his world. 

Star 2

 

One thought on “Review – The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower #2) by Stephen King

  1. I read this whole series last year, and I have mixed feelings about it. Some of the books are amazing, and others are absolute slogs. Also, I hated Susannah with a burning passion. I don’t think the series is King’s best work, but it does get really entertaining sometimes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

